shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use CallHippo?

Automate customer engagement with AI. Scale conversations, personalize messaging, and activate global communication in minutes - callhippo.com

Depends. A reasonable buy for small sales or support teams wanting cheap international numbers and click-to-call dialing. Avoid if you handle PHI, need reliable inbound calling, or plan to scale past a starter tool.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; several pricing and comparison articles are competitor-authored, so fee claims lean on multiple corroborating write-ups.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0/user/mo

Basic

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Starter$18/user/mo
Professional~$24–$30/user/mo
Ultimate$55/user/mo

Best for

  • Small sales teams needing international numbers
  • Budget-conscious startups wanting click-to-call
  • Support teams with basic phone needs

Not for

  • Healthcare teams handling PHI (no HIPAA)
  • Scaling orgs that outgrow starter dialers
  • Anyone needing dependable inbound calls/SMS
  • Teams expecting premium 24/7 support

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Mobile app complaints include inability to receive calls or SMS.

medium

Charges users twice for forwarded calls.

medium

List price hides number charges and per-outcome AI agent pricing.

medium

Positioned as a starter tool; many teams outgrow it.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Users consistently praise ease of use and reliability
  • Free Basic plan; paid tiers from $18/user/month
  • SOC 2 Type II compliant
  • Global numbers built on Twilio phone APIs
  • Replies to 100% of negative Trustpilot reviews

Cons

  • Google Play review: 'Terrible customer service and awful call quality'
  • App Store users report making calls/SMS but can't receive
  • Competitors say many teams outgrow it as they scale
  • Trustpilot reviewers share mixed feelings; some rate 1/5
  • Won't sign HIPAA BAAs, blocking regulated industries

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 12 sources - SOC 2 Type II compliant per vendor; not HIPAA compliant; no vulnerabilities found in sources reviewed.

official x1review x6security x1news x4
  • Not HIPAA compliant, Paubox reports CallHippo won't sign a BAA, ruling out PHI workloads.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $0/user/mo

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Cheap list price; hidden forwarding and number fees.
  • Ease of use: 4/5. G2 users consistently praise ease of use.
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Starter dialer depth; teams outgrow it.
  • Support quality: 2/5. Play Store: 'terrible customer service'; mixed Trustpilot.
  • Security posture: 3/5. SOC 2 Type II, but refuses HIPAA BAAs.
  • 4.4/5 G2 rating 412 verified reviews
  • $0/user/mo Starting price Starter plan $18/user/mo
  • Yes Free tier Basic plan at $0
  • 5,000+ companies Scale $8.4M est. ARR, 56 staff (2024)

Pricing

Basic

$0/user/mo

  • Guess: basic virtual numbers

Starter

$18/user/mo

  • Guess: entry paid tier

Professional

~$24–$30/user/mo

  • Guess: mid tier

Ultimate

$55/user/mo

  • Guess: top tier (monthly billing)

Security

SOC 2 Type II compliant per vendor; not HIPAA compliant; no vulnerabilities found in sources reviewed.

  • Not HIPAA compliantPaubox reports CallHippo won't sign a BAA, ruling out PHI workloads.⁸

What users say

Generally positive on G2 (4.4/5) for ease of use, but app-store and Trustpilot reviews flag call quality, support, and inbound failures.

“Make calls and send SMS but can't receive”
App Store review
“Terrible customer service and awful call quality.”
Google Play review
“CallHippo does exactly what it sets out to do — and does it well.”
UC Marketing review

Companies that use it

  • 12
  • Sunday Mobility
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; several pricing and comparison articles are competitor-authored, so fee claims lean on multiple corroborating write-ups.

Cheap starter VoIP dialer for small sales teams; hidden fees, spotty support, and you'll likely outgrow it.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; several pricing and comparison articles are competitor-authored, so fee claims lean on multiple corroborating write-ups.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. news
  8. security
  9. official
  10. news
  11. news
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.