shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Certn?

The World's Easiest Background Checks - certn.co

Depends. Buy if you're a staffing agency or hiring at volume across US/Canada/UK and want published per-check rates with HR-suite integrations. Skip if you need occasional one-off checks, flat transparent pricing, or a vendor with a spotless privacy record.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~50 public sources; ratings conflict between aggregators (G2 4.7 vs RFP.wiki 3.5 across 377 reviews).

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

From $3.50/check

Per-check

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
EnterpriseCustom

Best for

  • Staffing agencies
  • High-volume hiring teams
  • Cross-border US/Canada/UK screening
  • Remote-first companies

Not for

  • One-off hirers needing a single occasional check
  • Budget teams wary of hidden per-check fees
  • Buyers expecting white-glove candidate support
  • Orgs that can't tolerate vendor privacy-investigation noise

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Per-check billing plus pass-through fees balloon costs at hiring volume

medium

Enterprise tier reportedly involves long contracts; negotiate term and exit before signing

medium

Multiple Reddit threads show candidate confusion, verification emails, and delays; plan candidate support

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Published per-check pricing scales cost with usage
  • Rates 4.7/5 on G2
  • Covers domestic and international checks
  • Integrates with Workable, Drata, and SAP ecosystem
  • Vendor case study claims 75% fewer follow-ups

Cons

  • 3.5/5 aggregate across 377 reviews on
  • 'DO NOT USE' reviews on Trustpilot for its UK arm
  • Candidates describe the screening experience as 'awful'
  • Hidden fees flagged by pricing-comparison sites
  • Support issues: 'We have had a few issues'

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/05/2026 - 9 sources - Publishes a security page and works with trust platforms like Drata; no confirmed breach found, but a Canadian privacy-commissioner investigation mention is unconfirmed.

official x1review x5security x2news x1
  • Joint investigation by Canadian privacy commissioners, A news item on a joint probe into a background-check company appears in sources tied to Certn; the excerpt doesn't confirm Certn is the subject — verify before signing.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • From $3.50/check

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Hidden-fee complaints; per-check costs climb with volume
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Fast for recruiters; candidates report friction on Reddit
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Global checks, continuous monitoring, HR-suite integrations
  • Support quality: 2/5. 'DO NOT USE' Trustpilot posts; 'a few issues' per SoftwareAdvice
  • Security posture: 3/5. Security page published; unconfirmed privacy-investigation mention
  • 4.7/5 G2 rating G2 product listing
  • From $3.50 Starting price per check, per third-party listing
  • $65M CAD Funding Series B, 2022
  • 6 Pricing editions per TrustRadius

Pricing

Per-check

From $3.50/check

  • Domestic and international checks
  • Published per-check rates

Enterprise

Not disclosed

  • Long contracts reported
  • Continuous monitoring add-on

Security

Publishes a security page and works with trust platforms like Drata; no confirmed breach found, but a Canadian privacy-commissioner investigation mention is unconfirmed.

  • Joint investigation by Canadian privacy commissionersA news item on a joint probe into a background-check company appears in sources tied to Certn; the excerpt doesn't confirm Certn is the subject — verify before signing.⁷

Companies that use it

  • Drata
  • cside
  • Traction Guest
  • Advent (tenant screening)
Full analysis

Based on ~50 public sources; ratings conflict between aggregators (G2 4.7 vs RFP.wiki 3.5 across 377 reviews).

Solid for high-volume, cross-border screening; per-check pricing, hidden-fee reports, and mixed candidate reviews hurt one-off buyers.

Methodology

Based on ~50 public sources; ratings conflict between aggregators (G2 4.7 vs RFP.wiki 3.5 across 377 reviews).

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. news
  6. security
  7. security
  8. review
  9. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.