shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Composio?

Just-in-time tool calls, secure delegated auth, sandboxed environments, and parallel execution across 1,500+ apps. - composio.dev

Depends. Buy if your dev team is wiring AI agents into many low-risk SaaS apps and can tolerate usage-based pricing. Avoid it for sensitive or compliance-heavy workloads — the May 2026 OAuth breach and 2024 SDK CVEs show real risk.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~35 public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, CVE databases, breach coverage, and company pages. Some review snippets were truncated, so exact ratings were unavailable.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelUsage-based
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Usage-basedFrom $0.0001 per call
Startups ProgramFree 6 months

Best for

  • Dev teams building AI agents
  • Agent platforms needing broad SaaS reach
  • Startups prototyping MCP tool use
  • Teams avoiding OAuth plumbing across many apps

Not for

  • Anything touching sensitive customer data
  • No-code automators — use Zapier or n8n
  • Agents calling fewer than five apps — use direct APIs
  • Buyers who need a clean security track record

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

One OAuth token exposed ~10,000 accounts in May 2026 — audit token scoping before production

high

SDK shipped four 2024 CVEs (RCE, code injection, file read); keep composio-core updated

medium

Per-call pricing looks tiny ($0.0001) but compounds fast; calls the model complex

medium

Free plan covers prototypes (~100,000 calls); production costs scale with agent activity

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 1,500+ app toolkits; agents get delegated auth without custom OAuth plumbing
  • Sandboxed environments and parallel execution built for agent workloads
  • Generous free tier; startups build free for six months
  • One-stop MCP server across frameworks including AutoGen
  • Case studies range from solo startups to agent marketplaces like SwarmZero

Cons

  • Complex pricing model; comparison site explicitly warns it confuses buyers
  • May 2026 breach: one compromised OAuth token exposed ~10,000 accounts
  • Four 2024 CVEs in its SDK, including remote code execution
  • Some developers debate switching to direct APIs after initial friction
  • Reddit users flag stealth marketing and hidden AI-agent signup prompts

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 17 sources - Poor track record: four 2024 SDK CVEs and a May 2026 breach where one OAuth token exposed ~10,000 accounts.

official x5review x7security x4news x1
  • May 2026 OAuth token breach, One compromised OAuth token exposed roughly 10,000 accounts; Composio confirmed the incident and restricted API keys.
  • CVE-2024-53526 — RCE in tool call handler, Remote code execution in composio_openai tool call handling.
  • CVE-2024-8864 — code injection, Code injection vulnerability in the Calculator tool, patched September 2024.
  • CVE-2024-8865 — path traversal, Medium-severity arbitrary file read in composio-core.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 17

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Complex per-call pricing; free tier helps prototypes only
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Quick MCP setup, but code-first; some prefer direct APIs
  • Feature depth: 4/5. 1,500+ apps, auth, sandboxing, parallel execution
  • Support quality: 3/5. Invested in end-to-end support stack per Decimal case study
  • Security posture: 1/5. 2026 OAuth breach plus multiple 2024 SDK CVEs
  • 1,500+ App integrations toolkits for AI agents
  • $29M Funding Series A, July 2025
  • Yes Free tier plus 6 months free via Startups Program
  • Usage-based Pricing model per-call pricing from $0.0001

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Generous free tier for prototyping
  • ~100,000 free calls per toolkit page

Usage-based

From $0.0001 per call

  • Per-call micro pricing
  • Some features gated to paid tiers

Startups Program

Free 6 months

  • Build AI agents free for six months

Security

Poor track record: four 2024 SDK CVEs and a May 2026 breach where one OAuth token exposed ~10,000 accounts.

  • May 2026 OAuth token breachOne compromised OAuth token exposed roughly 10,000 accounts; Composio confirmed the incident and restricted API keys.12
  • CVE-2024-53526 — RCE in tool call handlerRemote code execution in composio_openai tool call handling.14
  • CVE-2024-8864 — code injectionCode injection vulnerability in the Calculator tool, patched September 2024.
  • CVE-2024-8865 — path traversalMedium-severity arbitrary file read in composio-core.15

What users say

Developers like the one-stop breadth of integrations for agents, but a vocal group questions whether direct APIs or self-hosted options fit better.

“But composio is great for anything”
Reddit, r/hermesagent
“Should I ditch composio.dev for direct APIs in my project”
Reddit, r/LangChain (thread title)
“Thankfully, we found Composio”
Capterra review

Alternatives

Compare Composio with each alternative.

  • Direct APIs

    Cheaper and simpler if your agent calls few apps

Companies that use it

  • SwarmZero16
  • Assista AI17
  • Extra Thursdays
Full analysis

Based on ~35 public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, CVE databases, breach coverage, and company pages. Some review snippets were truncated, so exact ratings were unavailable.

1,500-app integration layer for AI agents — powerful, but a 2026 OAuth breach and complex usage pricing demand caution.

Methodology

Based on ~35 public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, CVE databases, breach coverage, and company pages. Some review snippets were truncated, so exact ratings were unavailable.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. Composio Pricingcomposio.dev
    official
  9. official
  10. official
  11. news
  12. security
  13. security
  14. security
  15. security
  16. official
  17. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.