shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use CompTIA?

Start or advance your IT career with industry-recognized certifications - comptia.org

Depends. Buy if you're entering IT support or need Security+ for government/DoD work — it's the most recognized entry credential. Skip if you're experienced, want training instead of an exam, or resent recurring exam and renewal fees.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources. Note: CompTIA is a certification body, not software — this report judges it as a career credential purchase.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security postureNo security findings in reviewed sources.

Pricing

A+ exam voucher

$274 per exam (pre-June 2026)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees$75/yr
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Cert renewal$75/year

Best for

  • IT newcomers and career changers
  • Help desk candidates needing a first credential
  • Gov/DoD contractors needing Security+
  • Employers upskilling support staff

Not for

  • Experienced engineers — entry certs add little at senior levels
  • Anyone wanting to learn skills — this tests knowledge, it doesn't teach
  • Teams shopping for software — this is an exam, not a tool
  • Budget buyers — $274 exams plus $75/yr renewals add up fast

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Buy vouchers before June 2026 — another price increase is coming

medium

A+ costs $75/year forever to keep active unless you earn CEUs

medium

Users report CEU tracking headaches; renewal becomes a recurring chore

medium

Trustpilot reviewers allege billing issues; BBB complaints on file

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Widely recognized entry credential; Security+ is DoD-recognized
  • Users report landing IT jobs; one got hired after six certs
  • Full cert ladder: A+, Network+, Security+, SecurityX
  • Enterprise case studies with Google and Thomson Reuters

Cons

  • Repeated price hikes; A+ voucher now $274, rising June 2026
  • Certifications expire; $75/year renewal or CEUs required
  • Customer service complaints on Trustpilot and BBB
  • Polarizing: Reddit threads call the certs 'worthless'
  • Exam only — study materials cost extra via third parties

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x4news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $274 per exam (pre-June 2026)

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Recognized credential, but rising exam and renewal fees.
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Exams via Pearson VUE; CEU process frustrates users.
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Full ladder: A+, Network+, Security+, SecurityX, PenTest+.
  • Support quality: 2/5. Trustpilot complaints and BBB cases on file.
  • Security posture. No security findings in reviewed sources.
  • $274 A+ exam voucher pre-June 2026; rising
  • $75/yr A+ renewal fee or earn CEUs instead
  • No Free tier exams and prep all cost money
  • 87 Trustpilot reviewers polarized sentiment

Pricing

A+ exam voucher

$274 per exam (pre-June 2026)

  • Two exams needed for full A+
  • Prices rising June 2026

Cert renewal

$75/year

  • Keeps A+ active
  • CEUs can substitute

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Polarized: many credit CompTIA certs with landing IT jobs, while others slam rising prices, renewal hassle, and support.

“CompTIA is 100% worth it, don't listen to what anyone says”
Reddit, r/CompTIA
“Comptia is a SCAM 100%”
Trustpilot reviewer
“CompTIA is raising prices again. My advice is to skip the…”
Reddit, r/ITCareerQuestions

Companies that use it

  • Google
  • Thomson Reuters
  • Gwinnett County Schools
  • U.S. Navy (recognizes Security+ via Navy COOL)⁷
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources. Note: CompTIA is a certification body, not software — this report judges it as a career credential purchase.

Not software — the default entry-level IT cert. Worth it for IT newcomers and DoD roles; skippable for experienced pros.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources. Note: CompTIA is a certification body, not software — this report judges it as a career credential purchase.

Sources

  1. official
  2. news
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. official
  8. official
  9. news
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.