shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Cursor Review

Depends

Should I use Cursor?

Built to make you extraordinarily productive, agents turn ideas into code. Accelerate development by handing off tasks to Cursor. - cursor.com

· 1 month ago

Buy if you are a professional developer or engineering team shipping code daily and can absorb usage-based costs. Skip it if you code casually, need predictable bills, or cannot keep up with security patches.

Confidence

High. Based on 50+ public sources: G2/Trustpilot reviews, CVE databases, pricing analyses, and funding news.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Pro$20/mo
Usage-based overagesVaries

Best for

  • Professional developers shipping daily
  • Engineering teams adopting AI coding at scale
  • Front-end and product teams prototyping fast
  • Enterprises wanting centralized AI dev controls

Not for

  • Casual coders who will hit Pro limits and hate overages
  • Security-sensitive orgs with no capacity to vet agents and patch CVEs
  • Anyone needing predictable flat monthly bills
  • Non-technical founders expecting finished apps from pure prompts

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Usage pricing is opaque; power users report $200+/month vs the $20 plan

high

2025 Pro plan changes cut value silently; refunds came only after backlash

high

MCPoison attack: poisoned repos can trigger code auto-execution; vet what you clone

medium

Steady CVE stream means weekly patching and restricting agent permissions

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Reviewers call it the most capable AI code editor for real work
  • Agent handoff measurably boosts output for active developers
  • Enterprise traction: claimed 64% of Fortune 500 use it
  • Users praise autocomplete and codebase context as best-in-class
  • Even non-coders report building working internal tools

Cons

  • Mid-2025 pricing overhaul sparked user revolt and refunds
  • Power users report $200+/month costs despite the $20 plan
  • Only 1.6/5 on Trustpilot across 322 reviews
  • Repeated remote-code-execution CVEs in 2025-2026 demand fast patching
  • Some three-month users quit over quality and limits

Sources & method

- 13 sources - Active CVE stream 2025-2026 including remote code execution; patch fast and lock down agent permissions.

official x2review x5security x4news x2
  • CVE-2025-54135 'CurXecute' — remote code execution, RCE vulnerability in Cursor, patched August 2025.
  • CVE-2025-54136 'MCPoison' — malicious repo auto-execution, Poisoned repos could make the IDE auto-run malicious code via MCP config.
  • CVE-2026-48124 — RCE vulnerability, Remote code execution flaw disclosed June 2026.
  • CVE-2026-22708 — RCE vulnerability, Remote code execution flaw disclosed January 2026.
  • CVE-2025-64110 — information disclosure, Information disclosure vulnerability documented in NVD, November 2025.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. 2025 pricing backlash; power users report $200+ bills
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Non-coders report shipping real projects
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Agents, multi-file edits, enterprise admin controls
  • Support quality: 2/5. Refund fights and 1.6/5 Trustpilot
  • Security posture: 2/5. Five CVEs since 2025, including RCE
  • 4.x/5 G2 rating 315 reviews on G2
  • 1.6/5 Trustpilot rating 322 reviews
  • $20/mo Starting price Pro plan; usage overages extra
  • $29.3B Valuation $2.3B raised; talks at $50B+

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Limited usage for trying agents and autocomplete

Pro

$20/mo

  • Higher limits
  • Pay-as-you-go beyond caps
  • Auto mode routes models

Usage-based overages

Varies

  • Power users report $200+/month
  • Regional Cursor Start pricing exists (e.g. ₹649 India)

Security

Active CVE stream 2025-2026 including remote code execution; patch fast and lock down agent permissions.

  • CVE-2025-54135 'CurXecute' — remote code executionRCE vulnerability in Cursor, patched August 2025.⁶
  • CVE-2025-54136 'MCPoison' — malicious repo auto-executionPoisoned repos could make the IDE auto-run malicious code via MCP config.⁹
  • CVE-2026-48124 — RCE vulnerabilityRemote code execution flaw disclosed June 2026.⁷
  • CVE-2026-22708 — RCE vulnerabilityRemote code execution flaw disclosed January 2026.
  • CVE-2025-64110 — information disclosureInformation disclosure vulnerability documented in NVD, November 2025.⁸

What users say

Developers broadly praise Cursor's agent productivity and autocomplete, but many turned critical after 2025 pricing changes and quality dips.

Alternatives

Compare Cursor with each alternative.

  • GitHub Copilot

    Native in VS Code; easiest switch if your org already pays Microsoft.

  • Claude Code

    Terminal-based agents; some reviewers switched after Cursor frustrations.

  • Windsurf

    Closest full-IDE rival; G2 compares them head-to-head.

    Cursor vs Windsurf
  • Cline

    Free, open-source agent coding option in 2026 comparisons.

Companies that use it

  • Nokia
Full analysis

Based on 50+ public sources: G2/Trustpilot reviews, CVE databases, pricing analyses, and funding news.

Devs love the agents; pricing bites and CVEs are real. Buy for pros, skip for casuals.

Methodology

Based on 50+ public sources: G2/Trustpilot reviews, CVE databases, pricing analyses, and funding news.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. security
  7. security
  8. security
  9. MCPoison — Check Point Researchresearch.checkpoint.com
    security
  10. Cursor Pricingcursor.com
    official
  11. official
  12. news
  13. news

Add this review to your site

This check for Cursor says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.