shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Doabooks (Directory of Open Access Books)?

Free discovery service for peer-reviewed open access books - doabooks.org

Worth it. Use it freely if you research, teach, or curate academic books — it is free, trusted, and indexes 109,000+ peer-reviewed OA titles. Do not treat it as a purchasable product; it is nonprofit infrastructure with no support contract.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14 public sources. Several fetched snippets were truncated or off-topic (G2 review guides, FNAF game wikis), so user-voice evidence is thin.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo direct usability evidence found
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence found
  • Security postureNo findings either way; no public security page

Pricing

$0

Directory access

ModelNonprofit
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Researchers doing literature reviews
  • University libraries
  • Open access book publishers
  • Students seeking free academic texts

Not for

  • Anyone shopping for purchasable software — this is a free index, not a product
  • Readers wanting fiction or paywalled/proprietary books
  • Teams needing support contracts, SLAs, or vendor accountability
  • Buyers comparing G2-style commercial review platforms

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Full-text links depend on external publisher sites, which can move or disappear

medium

Cost trap is indirect: paywalled research still requires a subscription database elsewhere

low

Grant-funded nonprofit: no support desk or SLA if the service degrades

low

Not a turnkey data feed; programmatic bulk access means API work or scrapers

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 109,000+ peer-reviewed open access books, fully free to search
  • All services free, including metadata
  • Metadata openly available and reusable
  • Recommended across many university library guides
  • Evaluated as trusted open infrastructure by Invest in Open Infrastructure

Cons

  • Discovery only — full texts live on external publisher sites
  • No public security page published
  • Covers open access monographs only, no paywalled literature
  • Bulk access pushes users to third-party scrapers
  • No commercial entity behind it — no vendor to hold accountable

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 7 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 7

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Completely free, grant-supported open infrastructure
  • Ease of use. No direct usability evidence found
  • Feature depth: 4/5. 109k+ records, open metadata, API access
  • Support quality. No support evidence found
  • Security posture. No findings either way; no public security page
  • 109,000+ Books indexed peer-reviewed open access
  • $0 Starting price all DOAB services free
  • Yes Free tier no paid plans exist
  • Nonprofit Model community-driven, listed on Invest in Open Infrastructure

Pricing

Directory access

$0

  • Search 109,000+ peer-reviewed OA books
  • Free metadata downloads
  • API for integration

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Library guides and Emerald's review treat DOAB as a trusted community-driven discovery service; no substantive user complaints surfaced in the sources.

Alternatives

Compare Doabooks (Directory of Open Access Books) with each alternative.

Companies that use it

  • University of Canterbury
  • Mississippi State University
  • Universiti Utara Malaysia
  • National College of Art and Design
  • JabRef⁵

Companies that could

  • Iloilo Provincial Library Uses EBSCOhost instead
  • University of Cambridge Uses DSpace + OpenAlex instead
Full analysis

Based on 14 public sources. Several fetched snippets were truncated or off-topic (G2 review guides, FNAF game wikis), so user-voice evidence is thin.

Free nonprofit index of 109,000+ peer-reviewed open-access books. Use it — just don't expect a supported product.

Methodology

Based on 14 public sources. Several fetched snippets were truncated or off-topic (G2 review guides, FNAF game wikis), so user-voice evidence is thin.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. official
  6. news
  7. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.