shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Docmost Review

Depends

Should I use Docmost?

Replace Confluence and Notion with secure on-premise documentation. ITAR, FedRAMP, and GDPR compliant wiki platform with SSO, MFA, and granular permissions. - docmost.com

· 1 month ago

Buy if you want a cheap, self-hosted Confluence/Notion replacement and have someone who can run a server. Skip if you need turnkey SSO, published enterprise pricing, or zero-maintenance tooling.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~14 public sources; user-review depth is thin.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources reviewed
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Community Edition

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Hosted$10/month
Enterprise EditionPaid, price not public in sources

Best for

  • Regulated teams requiring self-hosting
  • Engineering teams already running servers
  • Cost-sensitive Confluence/Notion replacements
  • Small teams (≤10) wanting a cheap hosted wiki

Not for

  • Non-technical teams with nobody to run a server
  • Anyone needing SSO without paying Enterprise
  • Buyers who need published enterprise pricing and SLAs
  • Guess: enterprises needing a mature integration/plugin ecosystem

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Community Edition has no SSO — a hard blocker for many companies; Enterprise pricing isn't public.

medium

Self-hosted: you handle updates, backups, and security patching yourself.

medium

Evidence confirms flat $10/month only for 10 hosted users; larger-team pricing unverified.

medium

Confluence/Notion migration is marketed as easy — pilot the import before moving everything.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free open-source Community Edition under AGPL 3.0
  • Hosted plan is $10/month flat for up to 10 users
  • Built for self-hosting and data sovereignty in regulated industries
  • Clean interface and real-time collaborative editing
  • Advertises easy migration from Confluence and Notion

Cons

  • SSO and advanced features locked behind paid Enterprise Edition
  • Self-hosting means you own uptime, backups, and patching
  • AGPL 3.0 license carries redistribution obligations
  • Public user reviews still thin; long-term track record unclear

Sources & method

- 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x6security x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Free community edition; hosted $10/mo for 10 users
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Praised clean interface, Notion-like editor
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Solid wiki core; SSO and extras paywalled
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources reviewed
  • Security posture: 3/5. Self-host control and enterprise SSO/MFA; public detail thin
  • $10/mo Hosted price Flat rate, up to 10 users
  • Yes Free tier Community Edition, self-hosted, AGPL 3.0
  • AGPL 3.0 License Community Edition
  • On-prem or hosted Deployment Enterprise Edition adds SSO and compliance features

Pricing

Community Edition

Free

  • Self-hosted
  • AGPL 3.0 license
  • No SSO or enterprise features

Hosted

$10/month

  • Flat rate, up to 10 users
  • No server maintenance

Enterprise Edition

Paid, price not public in sources

  • SSO and advanced features
  • Aimed at high-compliance companies

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Self-hosters on Reddit and forums pitch it as a lighter, cheaper Confluence/Notion alternative, but in-depth user reviews are still scarce.

“There is an opensource community edition.”
Reddit, r/selfhosted
“Create, collaborate, and share knowledge seamlessly with Docmost. Ideal for managing your wiki, knowledge-base, documentation and a lot more.”
Cloudron forum
“It allows users to create, organize, and share knowledge in a structured and intuitive way.”
Octabyte blog review
Full analysis

Based on ~14 public sources; user-review depth is thin.

Open-source Notion/Confluence rival: free to self-host, $10/mo hosted for 10 users — great if you run servers, overkill if you don't.

Methodology

Based on ~14 public sources; user-review depth is thin.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. Cloudron forum threadforum.cloudron.io
    review
  7. review
  8. Docmost CVE trackingapp.opencve.io
    security
  9. security
  10. STOA Tools review pagetools.stoa.agency
    review

Add this review to your site

This check for Docmost says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.