shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use DriveSavers Data Recovery?

Certified secure data recovery service - drivesaversdatarecovery.com

Depends. Buy only if the data is business-critical or physically unrecoverable any other way. Skip if files are recoverable with free software or worth less than a $3,000+ quote.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 40+ public sources; many review excerpts were truncated, so quotes are limited to verbatim thread snippets.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Evaluation

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Standard recoveryQuoted; customer reports of $2,700–$3,900

Best for

  • Irreplaceable data on physically dead drives
  • Businesses hit by ransomware with failed backups
  • HIPAA-regulated organizations
  • Encrypted FileVault or damaged-phone recovery

Not for

  • Files recoverable with free software
  • Personal photos not worth $3,000+
  • Anyone who already has a working backup
  • Casual deletions on drives that still mount

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Quotes regularly exceed $3,000; one Reddit user was quoted $3,900 for a single drive.

medium

Free evaluation covers inspection only; recovery is billed afterward, often thousands.

medium

Reputation contested on r/datarecovery: threads ask 'legit or overrated/priced?'

medium

Independent labs like Rossmann claim comparable results cheaper; get competing quotes first.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free evaluation before you commit
  • Handles extreme cases: fire, water, ransomware, airport SANs
  • Claims only HIPAA-security-compliant recovery lab
  • Long-established industry leader with documented history

Cons

  • Quotes commonly run $2,700–$3,900 per drive
  • Mixed reputation even in data-recovery communities
  • 'Predatory' complaints appear in public reviews
  • Costs far exceed DIY software or local labs

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x6security x2news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Multiple $3k+ quote complaints
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Free evaluation, mail-in process
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Drives, phones, SANs, ransomware, FileVault
  • Support quality: 3/5. Mixed: praise plus 'predatory' complaints
  • Security posture: 5/5. HIPAA-compliant, NIST-certified secure facility
  • 344 Yelp reviews yelp.com/brands/drivesavers-data-recovery
  • 39 Trustpilot reviews mixed sentiment
  • $2,700–$3,900 Typical customer-reported quote per drive, per Reddit/BBB reports
  • Yes Free evaluation inspection before commitment

Pricing

Evaluation

Free

  • Device inspection
  • Quote before work begins

Standard recovery

Not disclosed

  • Price depends on device and damage
  • No flat published rate found in sources

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

Companies that could

  • Rossmann Group Uses its own in-house recovery lab instead
Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources; many review excerpts were truncated, so quotes are limited to verbatim thread snippets.

Legit high-end recovery lab, but expect $3k+ quotes. Try free software or local shops first unless data is irreplaceable.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources; many review excerpts were truncated, so quotes are limited to verbatim thread snippets.

Sources

  1. DriveSavers official sitedrivesaversdatarecovery.com
    official
  2. DriveSavers pricing and recovery costsdrivesaversdatarecovery.com
    official
  3. Certified Secure Data Recoverydrivesaversdatarecovery.com
    security
  4. HIPAA Security Compliancedrivesaversdatarecovery.com
    security
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. news
  11. official
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.