shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Secure Data Recovery?

Certified data recovery services for hard drives, SSDs, RAID, and mobile devices - securedatarecovery.com

Depends. Worth it only when the lost data is business-critical and irreplaceable, given reported quotes of $2,247–$5,400 per job. Anyone with replaceable files or a budget should collect competing quotes from independent labs first.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~30 public sources; review snippets were truncated; no independent security findings.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo evidence on process experience
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Per-case lab service

$2,247–$5,400 reported per job

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Failed RAID and NAS arrays
  • Business-critical lost data
  • 24/7 emergency recoveries
  • Physically dead drives

Not for

  • Anyone whose files are replaceable — $2k+ quotes dwarf drive cost
  • Simple deleted-file cases — free recovery software often works
  • Price-sensitive buyers — cheaper labs exist per community reports
  • People unwilling to push back on quotes — upsell complaints exist

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Quotes vary wildly: $2,247 to $5,400 reported for single-drive jobs

medium

One reported ~$4,000 quote; get competing quotes before approving

medium

Emergency 24/7 service is offered; expect premium pricing on rush jobs

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Recovers HDDs, SSDs, RAID, NAS, flash drives, and phones
  • Offers 24/7 emergency data recovery service
  • Large review footprint: 1,933 verified reviews, 269 Yelp ratings
  • Customers report successful recoveries and proactive status updates
  • Operating since 2007 with many US locations

Cons

  • Reddit reports single-drive jobs at $2,247–$5,400
  • Reddit thread titled 'Help my girlfriend not get scammed by Secure Data'
  • One user received an almost $4,000 quote
  • Public service announcement thread targets its Canadian domain

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 15 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x9security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $2,247–$5,400 reported per job

    Starting price

  • 15

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Reddit reports $2.2k–$5.4k per job
  • Ease of use. No evidence on process experience
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Full device range incl. RAID, NAS, phones
  • Support quality: 3/5. Praise for updates; complaints about pressure
  • Security posture: 3/5. Certifications claimed; no incidents found
  • 2007 Founded Privately held
  • 1,933 Verified reviews Verified-Reviews.com
  • 269 Yelp reviewers Yelp brand page
  • $2,247–$5,400 Reported job cost Reddit customer reports

Pricing

Per-case lab service

$2,247–$5,400 reported per job

  • Price depends on device and damage severity
  • 24/7 emergency service available
  • Vendor publishes a cost guide

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reviews are split: many report successful recoveries and good communication, while Reddit threads slam $2,247–$5,400 quotes as overpriced.

“$5400 Data Recovery G-Drive Mac Power Failure”
Reddit, r/datarecovery
“Our family paid $2,247.5”
Reddit, r/datarecovery
“The team kept me updated”
Verified Reviews

Alternatives

Compare Secure Data Recovery with each alternative.

  • PhotoRec

    Free software first for simple deletions and card corruption

  • r/datarecovery community

    Vendor-neutral advice and vetted independent lab referrals

  • DriveSavers

    Guess: comparable US lab; collect competing quotes

Companies that use it

  • New York State Archives (listed vendor)14
Full analysis

Based on ~30 public sources; review snippets were truncated; no independent security findings.

Certified lab with real successes — but Reddit reports $2,247–$5,400 quotes. Only for irreplaceable data; get second quotes.

Methodology

Based on ~30 public sources; review snippets were truncated; no independent security findings.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. Official services pagesecuredatarecovery.com
    official
  11. official
  12. Official cost guidesecuredatarecovery.com
    official
  13. Wikipedia company entryen.wikipedia.org
    news
  14. official
  15. Official security pagesecuredatarecovery.com
    security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.