shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Dyslexiaida (International Dyslexia Association) Review

Depends

Should I use Dyslexiaida (International Dyslexia Association)?

International Dyslexia Association - …until everyone can read! - dyslexiaida.org

· 1 week ago

Buy the $50/year membership if you are a teacher, tutor, or researcher who wants IDA accreditation ties and the Annals of Dyslexia journal. Skip it if you expected software, tutoring, or diagnosis — IDA provides none of those.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 25+ public sources; evidence covers the nonprofit's programs, pricing, and institutional adoption — no software-style product reviews exist because IDA is not software.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usability evidence in sources
  • Feature depthNot a product; no feature evidence
  • Support qualityNo user support evidence in sources
  • Security postureNo findings either way; security page is a 404

Pricing

$50/year

Individual Membership

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Parents researching dyslexia
  • Teachers and reading specialists
  • Educators seeking accredited training programs
  • Researchers wanting Annals of Dyslexia

Not for

  • Anyone expecting software, an app, or ed-tech tool
  • Families needing tutoring or diagnosis — IDA provides neither
  • Buyers who want free journal access
  • Teams comparing software vendors — wrong category entirely

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Most cited resources are free; $50 membership mainly buys journal and member benefits

medium

Tutoring and certified practitioners cost extra, outside IDA entirely

medium

Conference attendance costs extra; IDA itself warns cost may exclude attendees

low

is a 404 — no published security or privacy details

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free plain-language fact sheets on dyslexia basics
  • Accredits teacher-training programs — a strong quality signal
  • Membership includes peer-reviewed Annals of Dyslexia journal
  • Widely cited in school districts' official literacy plans
  • Transparent 501(c)(3) with published financial reports

Cons

  • Not a product — no software, app, or tool included
  • Offers no tutoring, diagnosis, or direct clinical services
  • Actual reading support requires partner Learning Ally, not IDA
  • Journal access gated behind paid membership
  • Security page returns 'Page Not Found'

Sources & method

- 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x6review x2security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $50/year

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Journal access and branch benefits justify $50/yr
  • Ease of use. No usability evidence in sources
  • Feature depth. Not a product; no feature evidence
  • Support quality. No user support evidence in sources
  • Security posture. No findings either way; security page is a 404
  • $50/yr Membership price Individual membership
  • 501(c)(3) Organization Nonprofit with published financial reports
  • 1949 Founded As the Orton Society
  • Annals of Dyslexia Journal Included with paid membership

Pricing

Individual Membership

$50/year

  • Annals of Dyslexia journal access
  • Local branch membership and events
  • Member benefits and discounts

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Dyslexia Reddit communities repeatedly point each other to IDA resources and Orton-Gillingham-trained help, but direct reviews of IDA as a 'product' are scarce.

“Honestly I got treatment”
Reddit, r/Dyslexia
“You can also go to Orton”
Reddit, r/Dyslexia

Alternatives

Compare Dyslexiaida (International Dyslexia Association) with each alternative.

Companies that use it

  • Howard County Public School System11
  • Buckholts ISD (Texas)
  • Fairfax County Public Schools (West Potomac HS)
  • Minnesota Department of Education
  • Alaska Department of Education & Early Development
Full analysis

Based on 25+ public sources; evidence covers the nonprofit's programs, pricing, and institutional adoption — no software-style product reviews exist because IDA is not software.

Not a tool: $50/yr nonprofit membership for dyslexia resources. Fine for educators; skip if you need tutoring or software.

Methodology

Based on 25+ public sources; evidence covers the nonprofit's programs, pricing, and institutional adoption — no software-style product reviews exist because IDA is not software.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. official
  6. official
  7. security
  8. review
  9. review
  10. news
  11. news
  12. news

Add this review to your site

This check for Dyslexiaida (International Dyslexia Association) says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.