shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use OCLC CloudLibrary?

A world of experiences. All waiting for you with CloudLibrary. - ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com

Depends. Buy nothing as an individual — this is library infrastructure, free to readers with a library card. Libraries should get a written quote and compare Libby/OverDrive and Hoopla before committing.

Confidence

Low. Based on 14 public sources; nearly all cover OCLC broadly — cloudLibrary-specific review and pricing data was not found, hence low confidence.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo cloudLibrary-specific usability evidence found
  • Feature depthNo cloudLibrary feature evidence found
  • Support qualityNo support-quality evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Readers

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Library subscriptionQuote-based, not public

Best for

  • Public library patrons with a card
  • Consortia already licensing cloudLibrary
  • Libraries adding ebook and audiobook lending

Not for

  • Individual consumers — nothing to buy
  • Small libraries needing transparent, public pricing
  • Budget-tight libraries; some are dropping OCLC
  • Buyers wanting product-level security disclosure

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Pricing is quote-only; expect negotiation and wide variance between consortia

medium

No security page on this subdomain; trust info lives on OCLC's main site

medium

Layoffs and product sunsets raise roadmap-continuity risk before you sign multi-year terms

low

Legacy CVE-2013-10019 (SQL injection, CVSS 9.8) hit OCLC's OAICat research tool

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free access for readers through their library card
  • Backed by a nonprofit with published trust and compliance pages
  • Long-standing vendor with annual reports and wide library adoption

Cons

  • No public pricing; sales are quote-based
  • G2 seller rating just 3.8/5
  • Some libraries are dropping OCLC subscriptions
  • About 80 staff laid off, citing AI
  • Track record of discontinuing tools (Classify ended 2024)

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 8 sources - No security page found on this subdomain; OCLC publishes trust pages centrally, with one legacy CVE in an unrelated research tool.

official x4review x2security x1news x1
  • CVE-2013-10019 — SQL injection in OCLC-Research OAICat, CVSS 9.8 SQL injection in a legacy OCLC research tool; not cloudLibrary itself, but shows legacy exposure.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 8

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Quote-only pricing; libraries report dropping subscriptions
  • Ease of use. No cloudLibrary-specific usability evidence found
  • Feature depth. No cloudLibrary feature evidence found
  • Support quality. No support-quality evidence found
  • Security posture: 3/5. One legacy critical CVE; no security page here
  • 3.8/5 G2 rating 45 reviews across OCLC products
  • Yes Free for readers Borrow with a library card
  • 1967 Founded Nonprofit, Dublin, Ohio
  • ~80 Recent layoffs Dublin staff cut, citing AI

Pricing

Readers

Free

  • Borrow with a valid library card
  • No direct purchase option

Library subscription

Quote-based, not public

  • Ebook/audiobook lending for patrons
  • Usually negotiated via consortium
  • Contact vendor for quote

Security

No security page found on this subdomain; OCLC publishes trust pages centrally, with one legacy CVE in an unrelated research tool.

  • CVE-2013-10019 — SQL injection in OCLC-Research OAICatCVSS 9.8 SQL injection in a legacy OCLC research tool; not cloudLibrary itself, but shows legacy exposure.⁵

What users say

Library-community discussion skews negative on OCLC's costs and product sunsets, with recent layoffs adding unease; cloudLibrary-specific reviews are scarce.

“Our library is getting rid of OCLC...”
Reddit, r/Libraries
“OCLC Classify is being discontinued on January 31, 2024”
Reddit, r/Libraries
“OCLC in Dublin lays off about 80 employees, cites AI”
Reddit, r/Columbus
Full analysis

Based on 14 public sources; nearly all cover OCLC broadly — cloudLibrary-specific review and pricing data was not found, hence low confidence.

Free for readers via a library card; libraries face quote-only pricing and vendor churn. Compare Libby first.

Methodology

Based on 14 public sources; nearly all cover OCLC broadly — cloudLibrary-specific review and pricing data was not found, hence low confidence.

Sources

  1. CloudLibrary ebook portalebook.yourcloudlibrary.com
    official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. news
  5. security
  6. official
  7. official
  8. OCLC — Wikipediaen.wikipedia.org
    official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.