shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Progressive Grocer?

Grocery industry trade publication - progressivegrocer.com

Depends. This is not software — Progressive Grocer is a 100+ year grocery trade magazine owned by EnsembleIQ. Read its news and research free; only vendors selling to grocers should consider paying for its ad products.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~14 public sources; no user-review ratings or published pricing found.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo evidence
  • Security posture

Pricing

Not disclosed

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Grocery retail executives
  • CPG brand marketers
  • Food industry analysts
  • Supermarket suppliers

Not for

  • Software buyers — there is no tool here
  • Consumers hunting grocery deals
  • Teams outside food retail
  • Anyone needing CRM, analytics, or security tooling

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Ad rates unpublished; expect negotiated packages and minimum spends via sales

medium

Vendor case studies (Avidbots, Crisp) sit beside editorial news — treat as sponsored

low

No security page; low risk for readers, irrelevant if you wanted software

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Grocery industry authority for 100+ years
  • Publishes the PG 100, ranking top US food retailers annually
  • Annual Consumer Expenditures Study tracks shopper behavior beyond price
  • Multi-channel reach: site, app, podcast, TikTok, LinkedIn
  • Sells advertising targeted at grocery industry decision-makers

Cons

  • It's a trade magazine, not software — nothing to deploy
  • No published pricing; ad and sponsorship rates require sales contact
  • No public security page
  • Owned by B2B media company EnsembleIQ; content sits inside an ad ecosystem

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x8review x2security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Core news free; only advertisers pay
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Standard news site, app, podcast
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Annual report, PG 100, expenditures study
  • Support quality. No evidence
  • Security posture: 2/5. No public security page found
  • 100+ Years in print About Us: 'more than 100 years'
  • 90th annual Flagship report Report of the Grocery Industry
  • PG 100 Retailer ranking 2026 ranking of top food retailers
  • Yes Free to read News is ad-supported; revenue from advertising

Pricing

Free tier: Yes

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

No user review platforms found; brands like bakerly publicly promote their Progressive Grocer press mentions.

Companies that use it

  • bakerly10
  • MOM's Organic Market
  • Ahold Delhaize
  • Northeast Grocery
  • Publix
Full analysis

Based on ~14 public sources; no user-review ratings or published pricing found.

Not software — a 100+ year grocery trade magazine. Read free; pay only if you sell to grocers and want ads.

Methodology

Based on ~14 public sources; no user-review ratings or published pricing found.

Sources

  1. Home Page | Progressive Grocerprogressivegrocer.com
    official
  2. About Us | Progressive Grocerprogressivegrocer.com
    official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. official
  6. news
  7. official
  8. official
  9. Security pageprogressivegrocer.com
    security
  10. review
  11. official
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.