shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Epicurious?

Privacy Center - epicurious.com

Depends. Buy if you cook weekly and want tested recipes plus the shared Bon Appétit subscription; the free ad-supported tier covers casual browsing. Skip it if you expect unlimited free recipes, need beef recipes, or are shopping for business software.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; App Store price snippet truncated at $4.9, review rating figures unavailable in evidence.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Epicurious + Bon Appétit subscription≈$4.99/mo (App Store)

Best for

  • Home cooks wanting tested recipes
  • Casual browsers using the free tier
  • Condé Nast subscribers wanting the Bon Appétit bundle
  • App users who like built-in shopping lists

Not for

  • Businesses or teams — it is a consumer recipe site, not workplace software
  • Anyone demanding unlimited free recipes — paywall since February 2022
  • Beef-focused meal planners — no new beef recipes published
  • Users who cancel subscriptions; access-loop complaints are common

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Subscription access loops reported; renewal and cancellation run through Apple or Google

medium

Free tier is partial — some recipes paywalled since February 2022

medium

Account access and recovery issues push users to third-party complaint services

low

Site is ad-supported; ads fund the free recipes

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free ad-supported access to thousands of recipes
  • Established, tested recipe archive dating to 1995
  • One subscription covers Epicurious and Bon Appétit
  • App Store reviewers call it a longtime favorite

Cons

  • Paywall introduced February 2022; some recipes now locked
  • Subscription-loop and login errors reported by paying users
  • Editorial staffing cuts raised archive-quality worries among fans
  • No new beef recipes after its sustainability policy shift

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/03/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x4security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Paywall since 2022; free tier still usable
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Reviewers cite ease of use; App Store fans
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Recipes, shopping list, videos; not a meal planner
  • Support quality: 2/5. Subscription and login complaints on help forums
  • Security posture: 4/5. Security page exists; no public incidents found
  • 1995 Founded Publishing recipes since 1995
  • ≈$4.99/mo Subscription price App Store listing (snippet truncated at $4.9)
  • Yes Free tier Ad-supported site access
  • Feb 2022 Paywall added Some recipes now subscriber-only

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Ad-supported recipe browsing
  • Partial paywalled content

Epicurious + Bon Appétit subscription

≈$4.99/mo (App Store)

  • Unlocks recipes across both brands
  • Shared single subscription

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Users praise the recipe app and archive as a long-time favorite but grumble about the 2022 paywall and subscription access bugs.

“Love this app. Been an E”
Apple App Store review
“Epicurious is my all tim”
Reddit, r/AskReddit
“Epicurious! Their app is”
Reddit, r/AskReddit

Alternatives

Compare Epicurious with each alternative.

  • Allrecipes

    Free community recipes with user ratings

Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; App Store price snippet truncated at $4.9, review rating figures unavailable in evidence.

Beloved free recipe archive since 1995; paywall since 2022. Fine for home cooks — skip subscription unless cooking weekly.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; App Store price snippet truncated at $4.9, review rating figures unavailable in evidence.

Sources

  1. review
  2. news
  3. review
  4. official
  5. official
  6. review
  7. news
  8. news
  9. security
  10. Epicurious vs BigOven — NYT Diners Journaldinersjournal.blogs.nytimes.com
    review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.