shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Pocket Prep?

Skip to content - pocketprep.com

Worth it. Buy it if you're an individual drilling practice questions for a supported cert exam (IT, nursing, EMS, HR) on mobile. Skip it if you want actual teaching or a one-time purchase — it's recall drills only, and it's subscription-based now.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 40+ public sources: Reddit threads, app store reviews, Facebook study groups, official site, and Crunchbase.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
PremiumVaries by exam; exact prices not stated in sources

Best for

  • Cert exam self-studiers (IT, security, nursing)
  • Mobile crammers doing daily question reps
  • Budget learners starting on the free tier

Not for

  • Learners who need concepts taught, not just drilled
  • Anyone wanting a one-time purchase — it's subscription now
  • Hard-exam candidates relying on it alone (SPHR, CISSP)
  • Teams needing managed, org-wide training — consumer app only

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Longtime users report the one-time purchase model is gone; it's subscription-based now

medium

Question banks alone failed some users on hard exams; pair with study guides

low

Pricing varies by exam and bundle; verify your specific exam before subscribing

low

Some users find answer explanations confusing or overwhelming in detail

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 22,000+ practice questions across dozens of exams in bundled apps
  • Covers IT, security, nursing, EMS, fitness, HR, and dietetics exams
  • Users report passing real exams after using it
  • Free tier plus a financial support program for those in need
  • 2020 bundled apps made pricing more affordable than per-exam buys

Cons

  • Some users say it drills recall, not real understanding
  • Practice-question scores can crater confidence before real exams
  • Subscription shift alienated longtime one-time-purchase users
  • Question quality is debated across exam communities

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/03/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x6security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Bundled apps cut cost, but subscription shift annoys users
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Users praise quick mobile quiz sessions
  • Feature depth: 4/5. 22,000+ questions across dozens of exam banks
  • Support quality. No evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security posture: 3/5. Publishes security page; no findings in sources
  • 2011 Founded Seattle-based, self-described
  • $1.1M Funding Per Crunchbase profile
  • 22,000+ Practice questions Professional app, Google Play
  • Yes Free tier Plus a financial support program

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Sample question banks per exam
  • Limited practice; free users noted in app reviews

Premium

Varies by exam; exact prices not stated in sources

  • Full question banks (22,000+ in Professional app)
  • Bundled apps priced more affordably than per-exam buys

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Mostly positive for passing certs through mobile question drills, with recurring complaints that it tests recall rather than teaches and that pricing moved to subscriptions.

“I passed in 70 questions”
App Store, Pocket Prep EMS 2026 review
“PocketPrep is not really a great learning tool?”
Reddit, r/CompTIA
“Pocket prep is destroying confidence”
Reddit, r/capm

Alternatives

Compare Pocket Prep with each alternative.

  • Official vendor practice exams

    Guess: vendor exam questions mirror the real test most closely

Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources: Reddit threads, app store reviews, Facebook study groups, official site, and Crunchbase.

Solid mobile question-drill app for cert exams; great for daily reps, weak as a standalone teacher, subscription-only now.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources: Reddit threads, app store reviews, Facebook study groups, official site, and Crunchbase.

Sources

  1. Pocket Prep: Homepocketprep.com
    official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. official
  7. news
  8. news
  9. security
  10. review
  11. review
  12. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.