shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Flaticon Premium Review

Depends

Should I use Flaticon Premium?

Get more than 18,026,500 Selection resources + access to 0 Premium icons for 12.99 USD/month. Discover Flaticon Premium now! - flaticon.com

· 1 month ago

Buy Flaticon Premium if you download icons constantly and want commercial use without attribution at $12.99/month. Skip it if you're a light or budget user — free open-source icon sets cover most needs.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 17 public sources; coupon and affiliate pages weighted lightly.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources
  • Security postureNo security page; no incidents reported

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Premium Monthly$12.99/month
Premium AnnualOne lump sum per year

Best for

  • Designers needing huge icon variety
  • Commercial work without attribution
  • Presentations and product mockups
  • Frequent icon downloaders

Not for

  • Game devs shipping paid products — license complaints
  • Occasional users — free tier with attribution suffices
  • Zero-budget teams — Iconify and Material Design Icons are free
  • Legal-sensitive brands — licensing terms reported vague

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Premium license reportedly grants usage, not ownership; rules vague for shipped products like games.

medium

Annual subscription charged in one lump sum; auto-renews every 12 months unless cancelled.

medium

Free SVGs sometimes gated behind the premium paywall.

medium

Mac desktop app doesn't display premium icons, frustrating paying subscribers.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 18M+ icons and stickers — largest free library available
  • Premium unlocks no-attribution use plus SVG, EPS, PSD, PNG, Base64
  • TrustScore 5/5 across roughly 6,000 Trustpilot reviews
  • G2 users praise easy customization and downloading
  • Priced at or below rivals like Icons8 ($13/month)

Cons

  • License terms vague; users say you don't own downloaded icons
  • Some icons advertised as free require premium to download
  • Mac app hides premium icons entirely, per App Store review
  • Annual plan billed as one lump sum, auto-renews
  • Capterra user scores middling: 6/10 and 8/10

Sources & method

- 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x7news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. 18M+ assets for $12.99/mo; licensing risk
  • Ease of use: 4/5. G2 users call it easy; app quirks
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Huge library, many formats; no API evidence
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources
  • Security posture. No security page; no incidents reported
  • 5/5 Trustpilot rating ~6,000 reviews
  • $12.99/mo Starting price Premium, no attribution
  • Yes Free tier with attribution required
  • 2013 Founded Málaga, Spain; Freepik Company

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Millions of icons
  • Attribution required

Premium Monthly

$12.99/month

  • No attribution
  • SVG, EPS, PSD, PNG, Base64

Premium Annual

One lump sum per year

  • Same premium access
  • Auto-renews every 12 months

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Ratings are strong (Trustpilot 5/5, G2 praise for ease of use), but Reddit threads and app reviews flag vague licensing, paywalled 'free' icons, and app limitations.

“In reality, you don't own anything about any icon you download, even as a premium member. Their rules are very vague”
Reddit, r/gamedev
“Flaticon advertises thousands of free vector icons (svg), but they can only be downloaded by premium members”
Reddit, r/assholedesign
“A portion of Flaticon's icons are Premium-only. But in this app, any icons that are Premium AREN'T EVEN DISPLAYED.”
Apple App Store review
Full analysis

Based on 17 public sources; coupon and affiliate pages weighted lightly.

Huge library, fair price, strong ratings — but vague licenses and paywalled 'free' icons.

Methodology

Based on 17 public sources; coupon and affiliate pages weighted lightly.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. news

Add this review to your site

This check for Flaticon Premium says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.