shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Freetrade: Award-winning investment & trading platform?

Freetrade is an award-winning investment platform. Open a free ISA, SIPP, JISA, or GIA and invest commission-free in 8,600+ stocks, funds, ETFs, and more. - freetrade.io

Worth it. Buy if you're a UK beginner or long-term investor wanting cheap, simple, FCA-regulated investing in an ISA or SIPP. Skip if you're outside the UK, an active trader wanting advanced tools, or you want human advice — and note the evidence here is mostly Freetrade's own marketing, so confidence is low.

Confidence

Low. Based on 4 usable public sources; most are Freetrade's own marketing pages, so treat feature and scale claims with caution.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo independent usability evidence in sources reviewed.
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources reviewed.
  • Security posture

Pricing

£0

Basic

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Standard£4.99/mo
Plus£9.99/mo billed annually

Best for

  • UK first-time investors
  • Long-term ISA and SIPP savers
  • Cost-conscious buy-and-hold portfolios

Not for

  • Non-UK investors — accounts are UK-specific (ISA, SIPP, JISA)
  • Guess: day traders needing advanced order types or shorting
  • Guess: investors who want human financial advice
  • Small balances where £4.99–£9.99/mo fees bite hardest

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Plus's £9.99/mo applies only when billed annually — monthly billing likely costs more.

low

Sources say little about what Basic actually includes — compare tiers before committing.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Commission-free trading across 8,600+ stocks, funds, and ETFs
  • Genuinely free Basic plan with no monthly fee
  • FCA authorised and regulated (reg. no. 783189)
  • UK tax wrappers included: ISA, SIPP, JISA, and GIA

Cons

  • Best features gated behind paid plans costing up to £9.99 monthly
  • Plus plan's headline £9.99 rate requires annual billing

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/01/2026 - 4 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed. FCA authorised and regulated (reg. no. 783189); member firm of the London Stock Exchange.

official x1review x1security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • £0

    Starting price

  • 4

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Free tier, commission-free trades, paid plans from £4.99.
  • Ease of use. No independent usability evidence in sources reviewed.
  • Feature depth: 4/5. 8,600+ instruments across ISA, SIPP, JISA, GIA wrappers.
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources reviewed.
  • Security posture: 4/5. FCA regulated (783189), London Stock Exchange member firm.
  • 1.6m Users Per Freetrade's own ads
  • 8,600+ Tradable assets Stocks, funds, ETFs
  • £0/mo Starting price Basic plan
  • Yes Free tier Commission-free on every plan

Pricing

Basic

£0

  • Every account and every investment
  • Commission-free trading

Standard

£4.99/mo

  • Adds features beyond Basic (details not in sources)

Plus

£9.99/mo billed annually

  • Top-tier features
  • Annual billing required for this rate

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

FCA authorised and regulated (reg. no. 783189); member firm of the London Stock Exchange.

What users say

Independent user commentary was scarce; the mentions compare Freetrade's platform costs against Hargreaves Lansdown and IG.

Alternatives

Compare Freetrade: Award-winning investment & trading platform with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on 4 usable public sources; most are Freetrade's own marketing pages, so treat feature and scale claims with caution.

FCA-regulated, commission-free UK investing app; strong for beginners and ISA/SIPP savers, thin evidence beyond marketing.

Methodology

Based on 4 usable public sources; most are Freetrade's own marketing pages, so treat feature and scale claims with caution.

Sources

  1. official
  2. security
  3. review
  4. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.