shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Heptabase Review

Depends

Should I use Heptabase?

Heptabase is an intelligent, visual knowledge base built for students, researchers, and lifelong learners. - heptabase.com

· 1 day ago

Buy if you're a student or researcher who thinks visually and will use the canvas daily for serious study work. Skip it if you just need simple notes or a free app — it's paid-only overkill for casual use.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources including G2, NVD, vendor support docs, and Reddit.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo consistent usability signal in sources
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$8–10/mo

Paid plan

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • Researchers and PhD students
  • Lifelong learners building a knowledge base
  • Visual thinkers who map ideas spatially
  • Paper-heavy reading and synthesis workflows

Not for

  • Casual note-takers who just need a simple notes list
  • Anyone wanting a free tool — paid-only
  • Teams needing shared, collaborative docs
  • People unwilling to learn a canvas-style system

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Stored XSS (CVE-2026-78213, CVSS 8.7) disclosed Aug 2026 — verify patched before storing sensitive notes.

medium

Second 2026 advisory (CVE-2026-12060) flags exposed information; public details are thin.

medium

No free tier, so you pay before finding out if canvas-style fits you.

low

Voice transcription draws on limited credits — check your quota.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Strong visual canvas for mapping and connecting ideas
  • 8.8/10 review score in 2026 roundup
  • AI Tutor agent guides structured learning
  • PKM community ranks it closest to an ideal system

Cons

  • Paid-only at $8–10/mo; no free tier
  • Stored XSS vulnerability, CVSS 8.7, disclosed Aug 2026
  • Second 2026 advisory flags exposed information
  • Vendor security page not found in review

Sources & method

- 11 sources - Two CVEs in 2026, including a high-severity stored XSS.

official x2review x5security x3news x1
  • CVE-2026-78213 — Stored XSS, Stored cross-site scripting vulnerability, CVSS 8.7, disclosed August 2026.
  • CVE-2026-12060 — Exposed information, GitHub advisory GHSA-rp9c-2wcg-gqq5 flags an exposure issue, June 2026; details truncated in reviewed sources.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $8–10/mo

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Paid-only, ~$8–10/mo, no free tier
  • Ease of use. No consistent usability signal in sources
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Canvas, AI Tutor, voice transcription, web tab
  • Support quality: 3/5. Founder does AMAs; small CX team listed
  • Security posture: 2/5. Two 2026 CVEs, incl. CVSS 8.7 XSS
  • 8.8/10 Review score AI Navigator review, 2026
  • $8–10/mo Starting price Toolfinder price estimate
  • No Free tier Listed as paid-only
  • $1.68M Funding Raised at YC, per founder blog

Pricing

Paid plan

$8–10/mo

  • Visual knowledge base with canvas
  • AI features incl. Tutor and voice transcription

Security

Two CVEs in 2026, including a high-severity stored XSS.

  • CVE-2026-78213 — Stored XSSStored cross-site scripting vulnerability, CVSS 8.7, disclosed August 2026.⁶
  • CVE-2026-12060 — Exposed informationGitHub advisory GHSA-rp9c-2wcg-gqq5 flags an exposure issue, June 2026; details truncated in reviewed sources.⁸

What users say

Users praise it as an extremely useful visual tool for serious learning work, with an 8.8/10 review score.

“It is extremely useful!”
Fivetaco review

Alternatives

Compare Heptabase with each alternative.

  • Obsidian

    Free, file-based notes with huge plugin ecosystem.

    Heptabase vs Obsidian
  • Notion

    All-in-one docs and wiki; easier collaboration, less visual.

  • Capacities

    Object-based notes; gentler learning curve than canvas tools.

Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources including G2, NVD, vendor support docs, and Reddit.

Powerful visual PKM for serious learners — overkill for casual notes, paid-only, and two 2026 CVEs temper the shine.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources including G2, NVD, vendor support docs, and Reddit.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. security
  7. security
  8. security
  9. official
  10. official
  11. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.