shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use ISACA?

Your voice, Your ISACA: Cast your vote related to ISACA's governance and bylaws update now. - isaca.org

Depends. Buy in if you're pursuing CISA, CISM, or CRISC — those are the industry-standard certs for audit and GRC careers. Skip it if you want hands-on technical credentials or a free/cheap entry point; membership alone is actively debated on Reddit.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 40+ public sources; many snippets were truncated, limiting quote depth.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usable evidence
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$145/year

Membership

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
CISA exam$575 (reported member rate)
Annual maintenance$45 members / $85 non-members
Question bank~$300

Best for

  • Aspiring CISA/CISM/CRISC credential holders
  • IT auditors and GRC professionals
  • Security managers on the management track
  • Governance teams using COBIT frameworks

Not for

  • Hands-on engineers wanting technical certs — compare CompTIA Security+ instead
  • Anyone wanting a free starter credential — compare ISC2 first
  • People joining for networking alone — Reddit debates whether $145 membership pays off
  • Teams shopping for security training software — this is a cert body, not a tool

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Full CISA journey stacks up: membership $145 + exam $575 + question bank ~$300 = $1,000+.

low

Maintenance fees and CPE requirements continue every year after you pass.

low

Redditors actively debate whether membership justifies $145; many buy the exam only.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • CISA/CISM are industry-standard certifications for audit and security management careers.
  • Membership is $145/year and unlocks member pricing on exams and maintenance.
  • 166,000+ certified professionals give a large network and local chapters.
  • Official review courses and question banks cover the full prep path.

Cons

  • Exam fees are steep: $575 reported even for members.
  • Practice question bank runs roughly $300 for 300 questions.
  • Certs require ongoing CPEs plus $45–$85 annual maintenance fees.
  • Repeat buyers report disappointment with ISACA prep and exam experience.
  • Customer service complaints appear on Trustpilot and BBB.

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed. One unconfirmed Reddit post questioned a website incident; no verified breach disclosed.

official x4review x5security x2news x1
  • Unconfirmed Reddit speculation about a possible breach, A Reddit post titled 'ISACA: Serious breach, or just terrible change control?' questioned suspicious site activity. Unconfirmed; no verified disclosure in reviewed sources.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $145/year

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Cheap membership, but exams and prep add up fast
  • Ease of use. No usable evidence
  • Feature depth: 4/5. CISA, CISM, CRISC, COBIT, journals, chapters, training
  • Support quality: 2/5. Trustpilot and BBB list customer service complaints
  • Security posture: 3/5. Runs bug-reporting program; uses Invicti scanning
  • $145/year Membership Individual membership
  • $575 CISA exam Reported member rate (Reddit)
  • 166,000+ Certified professionals Per PSI Exams case study
  • 55+ years Track record International professional association

Pricing

Membership

$145/year

  • Member pricing on exams
  • Resources, chapters, communities

CISA exam

$575 (reported member rate)

  • One-time exam fee
  • Non-members pay more

Annual maintenance

$45 members / $85 non-members

  • Required to keep cert active
  • Plus CPE requirements

Question bank

~$300

  • 300 practice questions

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

  • Unconfirmed Reddit speculation about a possible breachA Reddit post titled 'ISACA: Serious breach, or just terrible change control?' questioned suspicious site activity. Unconfirmed; no verified disclosure in reviewed sources.

One unconfirmed Reddit post questioned a website incident; no verified breach disclosed.

What users say

Reddit verdicts split: the certifications carry real career weight, but users frequently complain about costs, prep quality, and customer service.

“CRISC review : disappointed by ISACA”
Reddit, r/CRISC
“How Valuable Have You Found ISACA?”
Reddit, r/cism
“IS IT NOT EMBARRASSING FOR ISACA?”
Reddit, r/cism
Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources; many snippets were truncated, limiting quote depth.

Worth it for CISA/CISM career paths; skip for technical certs or cheap entry — full journey runs ~$1,000.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources; many snippets were truncated, limiting quote depth.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. official
  10. security
  11. security
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.