shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Kaplan?

Exam prep and education company — courses, tutoring, and practice tests for dozens of licensing and admissions exams - kaplan.com

Depends. Buy Kaplan if you want structured, all-in-one prep for a major exam (MCAT, NCLEX, bar, CFA, securities) and can absorb the premium price. Skip it if you're a budget self-studier or want a software tool — cheaper specialists exist, and a 2026 breach exposed subscriber SSNs.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 12+ public sources; most snippets are truncated, so user quotes are cut off at the source.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usable evidence in sources
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo usable evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

from $499

Real estate exam prep

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • High-stakes exam takers (MCAT, NCLEX, bar, CFA)
  • Learners wanting live classes plus tutoring
  • Career changers who need external structure
  • Universities and firms buying prep at scale

Not for

  • Budget self-studiers — question banks and books cost far less
  • Anyone cautious about handing over SSNs — breach history
  • Niche-exam takers with better specialist providers
  • Buyers expecting software — this is a course catalog, not a tool

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

March 2026 breach exposed SSNs of 230k+ people; consider a credit freeze before enrolling

medium

Refunds are conditional; read the refund policy before paying for premium tiers

medium

Advertised entry prices like $499 (real estate) are per exam; every exam is priced separately

low

Affirm financing makes costly premium tiers feel affordable; total spend still exceeds rivals

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Prep for dozens of exams: MCAT, NCLEX, GRE, bar, securities, real estate
  • Live online courses, practice tests, and one-on-one tutoring
  • Official ACT prep partner, endorsed on ACT's own site
  • Monthly financing via Affirm spreads out course costs
  • Multiple Reddit users report passing CFP, bar, and SIE exams with it

Cons

  • Repeatedly called too expensive versus alternatives
  • March 2026 data breach exposed SSNs of 230,000+ people
  • Attackers had about 19 days of access before detection
  • Class-action lawsuits over the breach under investigation
  • Some licensing students say other providers beat it

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/02/2026 - 12 sources - Data breach reported March 2026: 230,000+ people affected, SSNs exposed, ~19-day attacker access, lawsuits under investigation.

official x3review x5security x3news x1
  • Kaplan North America data breach (March 2026), 230,000+ people affected; SSNs exposed; attackers had access for roughly 19 days; law firms are investigating class-action claims.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • from $499

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Users repeatedly call it too expensive vs rivals
  • Ease of use. No usable evidence in sources
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Courses, tutoring, books, practice tests across many exams
  • Support quality. No usable evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 2/5. 2026 breach exposed SSNs after 19-day access
  • $499 Starting price Real estate license course (2024)
  • 0 G2 seller reviews Kaplan's G2 seller profile is unrated
  • 1,462 Companies using Kaplan Per TheirStack tech-usage data
  • 230,000+ Breach impact People affected, March 2026

Pricing

Real estate exam prep

from $499

  • License exam prep course (2024 list price)
  • Exact price varies by state and exam

Security

Data breach reported March 2026: 230,000+ people affected, SSNs exposed, ~19-day attacker access, lawsuits under investigation.

  • Kaplan North America data breach (March 2026)230,000+ people affected; SSNs exposed; attackers had access for roughly 19 days; law firms are investigating class-action claims.⁹

Alternatives

Compare Kaplan with each alternative.

  • UWorld

    Question-bank-first prep many med, nursing, and CFA candidates prefer

    Kaplan vs UWorld
  • Achievable

    Cheaper self-paced option frequently suggested for FINRA exams

  • STC

    Securities licensing specialist some learners pick over Kaplan

    Kaplan vs STC
  • Self-study stack

    Official exam guides plus free practice tests; enough for disciplined self-studiers

Companies that use it

  • ACT³
  • CAIA Association
Full analysis

Based on 12+ public sources; most snippets are truncated, so user quotes are cut off at the source.

Big-name exam prep with huge exam coverage, but users call it pricey — and a 2026 breach exposed 230k+ SSNs.

Methodology

Based on 12+ public sources; most snippets are truncated, so user quotes are cut off at the source.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. security
  10. security
  11. security
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.