shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Koho Review

Depends

Should I use Koho?

Popup heading - koho.ca

· 1 week ago

Buy if you're a Canadian who wants a no-fee spending card with budgeting and credit-building tools. Avoid if you need full-service banking, cash deposits, or fast dispute resolution.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; snippets truncated, so some details are partial.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Standard

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Essential~$4/mo (community-reported)
PremiumPaid monthly (price not confirmed in sources)

Best for

  • Fee-averse Canadian spenders
  • Credit-building beginners
  • Budgeting-first mobile bankers

Not for

  • Non-Canadians — the product is Canada-only
  • Businesses needing corporate banking or expense cards
  • Anyone who needs branches, cheques, or cash deposits
  • People who can't tolerate slow, frustrating dispute resolution

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Support complaints are common: unreachable agents, slow dispute and refund resolution

medium

Best perks — no FX fees, higher cashback — locked behind paid tiers

medium

Funds sit in trust at partner banks, not directly insured like a traditional bank account

low

Prepaid model: no cheques, limited cash handling, mobile-only

Pros and cons

Pros

  • No-fee core spending account
  • Credit-building tools for thin credit files
  • Deposits held in trust with CDIC-member banks
  • Public bug bounty program on HackerOne
  • $130M raised at $1.33B valuation; financially stable

Cons

  • Support complaints: unreachable staff, slow refunds, disputed charges
  • 2020 glitch enabled ~$1M in fraudulent transactions
  • Users report stolen funds and blocked accounts
  • Not a licensed bank yet; licence still pending
  • Top perks like no FX fees require paid Premium plan

Sources & method

- 13 sources - Runs a HackerOne bug bounty; deposits held in trust at CDIC-member banks; past fraud glitches and user-reported breaches.

official x1review x6security x3news x3
  • Fraud glitch (2020), System glitch led to roughly $1-million in fraudulent transactions.
  • User-reported account breaches, Users describe hacked accounts and stolen funds with slow resolution.
  • Named in payment-processor breach roundup, Koho Financial appears in a 2018 list of payment-processor data breaches.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. No-fee core; perks behind paid plans
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Mobile-only, app-first, simple
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Budgeting, credit building, savings; lacks full-bank features
  • Support quality: 2/5. Many complaints about unreachable, slow support
  • Security posture: 3/5. Bug bounty and CDIC trust; past fraud glitches
  • 2M+ Customers per co-founder interview
  • $130M Funding at $1.33B valuation, June 2026
  • Yes Free tier no-fee standard account
  • $4/mo Cheapest paid plan reported by community forum

Pricing

Standard

$0

  • No-fee spending account
  • Prepaid Mastercard
  • Budgeting tools

Essential

~$4/mo (community-reported)

  • 5% HISA option
  • Cash back

Premium

Paid monthly (price not confirmed in sources)

  • No FX fees
  • Boosted perks

Security

Runs a HackerOne bug bounty; deposits held in trust at CDIC-member banks; past fraud glitches and user-reported breaches.

  • Fraud glitch (2020)System glitch led to roughly $1-million in fraudulent transactions.⁴
  • User-reported account breachesUsers describe hacked accounts and stolen funds with slow resolution.⁵
  • Named in payment-processor breach roundupKoho Financial appears in a 2018 list of payment-processor data breaches.

Alternatives

Compare Koho with each alternative.

  • NeoFinancial

    Canadian no-fee neobank with cashback credit options.

  • Wise

    Better for multi-currency and international spending.

    Koho vs Wise
  • Wealthsimple

    Guess: no-fee Canadian spending app with broader investing.

Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; snippets truncated, so some details are partial.

No-fee Canadian neobank for spending, budgeting, and credit building — skip if you need full banking or fast support.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; snippets truncated, so some details are partial.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. security
  5. security
  6. security
  7. review
  8. news
  9. news
  10. news
  11. review
  12. review
  13. official

Add this review to your site

This check for Koho says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.