shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

LibreChat Review

Depends

Should I use LibreChat?

LibreChat brings together all your AI conversations in one unified, customizable interface. - librechat.ai

· 1 month ago

Buy if you have DevOps skills and want one self-hosted UI for many AI models — it's free and battle-tested at scale. Avoid if you want zero maintenance or can't commit to rapid patching; 2024–2026 CVEs make that non-negotiable.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 50+ public sources: Reddit/HN reviews, GitHub discussions, vendor docs, Elestio/Hostinger pricing, and NVD/SentinelOne/CERT security databases.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0/mo

Self-hosted (open source)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Elestio managed hostingPaid VPS plans (e.g., NC-MEDIUM-2C-4G)
Hostinger VPS one-clickVPS plans, 67% off promo

Best for

  • Dev teams self-hosting AI for privacy
  • Orgs juggling multiple AI model providers
  • Internal company chat platforms with Docker skills
  • Enterprises needing model-agnostic, vendor-neutral UI

Not for

  • Non-technical users wanting plug-and-play ChatGPT
  • Teams with no DevOps capacity to patch and harden
  • Regulated buyers needing vendor SLAs and a security page
  • Anyone expecting polished, bug-free UX out of the box

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

You own patching. Multiple 2024–2026 CVEs mean unpatched self-hosts are genuinely exposed.

high

Publicly exposed /api/config endpoint has been flagged; lock down network access.

medium

Paid convenience comes via third parties (Elestio, Hostinger VPS), not the core project.

medium

Buggy reputation in community threads; test upgrades before rolling out to your team.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free and open source; self-hosting starts at $0/mo
  • Unifies many AI models and providers in one interface
  • Proven at 15,000-user scale at Shopify
  • Users report it is easy to get running
  • Supports agents, MCP, RAG, and moderation features

Cons

  • Users report persistent bugs and rough edges
  • Repeated CVEs: auth bypass, info disclosure, DoS
  • No dedicated security page on its site
  • Configuration relies heavily on environment variables
  • UI/UX gaps acknowledged in open GitHub issues

Sources & method

- 11 sources - Multiple CVEs disclosed 2024–2026 (auth bypass, info disclosure, DoS, code-execution risk); self-hosters must patch fast and harden the network layer.

official x3review x3security x4news x1
  • CVE-2026-33265: Auth bypass, Authentication bypass vulnerability disclosed March 2026.
  • CVE-2026-32625: Information disclosure, Information disclosure flaw in LibreChat.
  • CVE-2026-34371: Code execution path, Any user who can trigger execute_code is affected per NVD.
  • CVE-2025-8849: Denial of service, Authenticated or unauthenticated attackers can disrupt service.
  • Exposed /api/config endpoint, Config exposure detected by vulnerability scanners.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • $0/mo

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Free, open source; managed hosting is optional
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Easy setup reports, but users cite bugs
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Multi-model, agents, MCP, RAG, moderation
  • Support quality: 3/5. Active founder in threads; bug complaints persist
  • Security posture: 2/5. Repeated CVEs including auth bypass; no security page
  • $0/mo Starting price Self-hosted, open source
  • 15,000 users Proven scale Shopify deployment
  • 5+ CVEs found Disclosed 2024–2026
  • ClickHouse Acquired by Founder joined ClickHouse

Pricing

Self-hosted (open source)

$0/mo

  • Full open-source platform
  • Bring your own API keys
  • Community support

Elestio managed hosting

Paid VPS plans (e.g., NC-MEDIUM-2C-4G)

  • Fully managed service
  • No ops burden

Hostinger VPS one-click

VPS plans, 67% off promo

  • One-click Docker deploy
  • You manage updates

Security

Multiple CVEs disclosed 2024–2026 (auth bypass, info disclosure, DoS, code-execution risk); self-hosters must patch fast and harden the network layer.

  • CVE-2026-33265: Auth bypassAuthentication bypass vulnerability disclosed March 2026.⁸
  • CVE-2026-32625: Information disclosureInformation disclosure flaw in LibreChat.
  • CVE-2026-34371: Code execution pathAny user who can trigger execute_code is affected per NVD.⁹
  • CVE-2025-8849: Denial of serviceAuthenticated or unauthenticated attackers can disrupt service.
  • Exposed /api/config endpointConfig exposure detected by vulnerability scanners.10

What users say

Users praise the model breadth and easy setup but repeatedly flag bugs and a love-hate comparison against Open WebUI.

“LibreChat was easy to get running.”
Reddit, r/LocalLLaMA
“LibreChat was my favorite open source frontend/backend”
Hacker News
“Is it just me or is Librechat a complete buggy mess?”
Reddit, r/LocalLLaMA

Companies that use it

  • Shopify³
  • Daimler
  • TU Clausthal
Full analysis

Based on 50+ public sources: Reddit/HN reviews, GitHub discussions, vendor docs, Elestio/Hostinger pricing, and NVD/SentinelOne/CERT security databases.

Powerful free self-hosted AI chat hub — but you own patching, and 2024–26 CVEs mean real hardening work.

Methodology

Based on 50+ public sources: Reddit/HN reviews, GitHub discussions, vendor docs, Elestio/Hostinger pricing, and NVD/SentinelOne/CERT security databases.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. official
  5. official
  6. news
  7. security
  8. security
  9. security
  10. security
  11. official

Add this review to your site

This check for LibreChat says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.