shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use LiveKit?

Build voice, video, and physical AI - livekit.io

Depends. Buy if you have engineers building voice or video AI at real scale and want open-source control. Skip if you want a managed voice bot out of the box — Vapi or Retell fit that better.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources: Reddit threads, G2/Product Hunt, TechCrunch, vendor docs, and security databases.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Open source (self-host)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
LiveKit CloudUsage-based, per-minute

Best for

  • Teams building voice AI agents
  • Video conferencing and livestreaming apps
  • Robotics and physical-AI startups
  • Engineering orgs wanting open-source control

Not for

  • Non-technical founders wanting a finished voice product
  • Teams wanting plug-and-play voice bots — Vapi/Retell are managed
  • Small projects where per-minute cloud bills outpace value
  • Buyers needing review depth before committing — G2 shows 1 review

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Cloud bills per minute across agent sessions, inference credits, and telephony — costs spike with usage

medium

Self-hosted concurrency bugs reported at low participant counts — test before scaling

medium

LiveKit server images have shipped flagged critical CVEs — keep patching rigorous

medium

Framework and cloud lock-in: moving agent pipelines to Pipecat later is painful

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Powers OpenAI's ChatGPT Advanced Voice — proven at extreme scale
  • Open source and free to self-host — escape hatch from lock-in
  • More flexible than managed rivals like Pipecat, per developer comparisons
  • Full stack: WebRTC transport, agent framework, SIP telephony, hosted inference
  • 10,000+ projects run on it; $1B-funded roadmap

Cons

  • Pure developer infrastructure — you assemble everything yourself; no finished product
  • Steep learning curve; evaluators report getting lost versus Vapi and Retell
  • Self-hosted users report concurrency bugs at low participant counts
  • Usage-based pricing spans sessions, inference, telephony — forecasting is hard
  • Almost no independent review depth: 1 G2 review total

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 14 sources - SOC2 certified with a trust center and disclosure program; a few component vulnerabilities disclosed and remediated.

official x4review x6security x3news x1
  • Critical vulnerabilities flagged in livekit-server images, LiveKit community thread flags High CVE-2026-24051 among critical findings in a recent image; remediation discussed.
  • livekit-client medium-severity vulnerability, AIKIDO-2025-10122 flagged a medium vulnerability in the livekit-client component (Feb 2025).

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Free self-host option; cloud is usage-based
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Steep learning curve versus managed rivals
  • Feature depth: 5/5. WebRTC, agents, SIP, inference all included
  • Support quality. No support evidence found
  • Security posture: 4/5. SOC2, disclosure program; patch promptness required
  • $100M Series C Funding $1B valuation, Jan 2026
  • 10,000+ Projects building on it per WebRTC.ventures partner page
  • Yes Free tier Open source, free self-hosting
  • 1 G2 reviews Independent review footprint is tiny

Pricing

Open source (self-host)

Free

  • Full server
  • You run operations and scaling

LiveKit Cloud

Usage-based, per-minute

  • Agent session minutes
  • Inference credits billed by usage

Security

SOC2 certified with a trust center and disclosure program; a few component vulnerabilities disclosed and remediated.

  • Critical vulnerabilities flagged in livekit-server imagesLiveKit community thread flags High CVE-2026-24051 among critical findings in a recent image; remediation discussed.10
  • livekit-client medium-severity vulnerabilityAIKIDO-2025-10122 flagged a medium vulnerability in the livekit-client component (Feb 2025).11

What users say

Developers praise LiveKit's flexibility and scale, while most friction centers on setup complexity and choosing between similar voice-AI platforms.

“LiveKit is much more flexible, and”
Reddit, r/AI_Agents
“LiveKit gives you the plumbing”
Reddit, r/AI_Agents
“I really appreciate LiveKit”
G2 review

Alternatives

Compare LiveKit with each alternative.

Companies that use it

  • OpenAI¹
  • Polymath Robotics
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources: Reddit threads, G2/Product Hunt, TechCrunch, vendor docs, and security databases.

Elite developer infrastructure for voice/video AI agents — powerful but build-it-yourself. Non-engineers should look elsewhere.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources: Reddit threads, G2/Product Hunt, TechCrunch, vendor docs, and security databases.

Sources

  1. news
  2. LiveKit Pricinglivekit.com
    official
  3. LiveKit homepagelivekit.com
    official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. official
  10. security
  11. security
  12. security
  13. review
  14. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.