shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Mintlify?

The Knowledge Platform Built for Agents (ships llms.txt for AI consumers) - mintlify.com

Depends. Buy if you run dev-tool/API docs and can absorb $250/mo Pro plus AI credit costs. Skip if you're a small team or security-strict buyer — the free tier gap, 2024 GitHub-token breach, and 2025 CVEs argue for simpler options.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14+ public sources; some review snippets were truncated, and a few pricing-tier details are marked as guesses.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo evidence in sources reviewed
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Pro$250/mo
EnterpriseCustom

Best for

  • Dev-tool companies with public API docs
  • Docs-as-code teams living in GitHub
  • AI startups wanting LLM-ready docs
  • Teams letting PMs and support edit docs

Not for

  • Small projects — $250/mo Pro is overkill; use free hosting or plain Markdown
  • Non-technical internal wikis — this is developer-docs-first
  • Security-strict enterprises — 2024 GitHub-token breach, 2025 CVEs
  • Cost-sensitive teams — AI credit metering makes bills unpredictable

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Free-to-Pro jump is large: $250/mo. Multiple reviewers built cheaper alternatives over the cost.

high

2024 data breach exposed customer GitHub tokens — scope repo access tightly before connecting.

high

November 2025 security event: XSS, directory traversal, and RCE CVEs; patch and stay current.

medium

AI features consume credits; heavy agent usage adds unpredictable spend on top of the plan.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Polished, beautiful docs output praised by reviewers
  • 4.6/5 G2 rating; users consistently praise the product
  • AI-native: agent features, credits system, endpoint
  • Named customers include Anthropic and HubSpot
  • Lets PMs and support edit docs, per users

Cons

  • Pro costs $250/month — steep jump from free
  • AI features run on credits; usage-based costs
  • 2024 breach exposed customer GitHub tokens
  • Three 2025 CVEs, including RCE
  • Expense pushed users to build their own docs platforms

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/27/2026 - 14 sources - Mixed: 2024 GitHub-token breach and three November 2025 CVEs (XSS, traversal, RCE), since patched; trust center and disclosure program exist.

official x3review x7security x3news x1
  • CVE-2025-67842 — XSS in Static Asset API, Cross-site scripting in the Static Asset API, fixed before 2025-11 release.
  • CVE-2025-67845 — Directory traversal, Directory traversal vulnerability disclosed December 2025.
  • CVE-2025-67846 — Remote code execution, RCE vulnerability in Mintlify Platform, tracked by SentinelOne.
  • March 2024 data breach, Customer GitHub tokens were exposed via a compromised third party; Mintlify published an incident report.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. $250/mo Pro and credit-metered AI draw complaints
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Users praise polish and easy editing
  • Feature depth: 4/5. AI agent, credits, enterprise controls, llms.txt
  • Support quality. No evidence in sources reviewed
  • Security posture: 2/5. 2024 token breach; three 2025 CVEs
  • 4.6/5 G2 rating 20+ reviews on G2
  • $250/mo Starting paid price Pro tier
  • Yes Free tier Large jump to paid, per comparisons
  • $45M Series B Funding ~$500M valuation, a16z, Apr 2026

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Basic docs hosting (Guess: limited features)
  • Large gap to paid tier, per comparisons

Pro

$250/mo

  • Full platform, AI features
  • AI usage metered via credits

Enterprise

Not disclosed

  • Advanced controls
  • Launched Feb 2026

Security

Mixed: 2024 GitHub-token breach and three November 2025 CVEs (XSS, traversal, RCE), since patched; trust center and disclosure program exist.

  • CVE-2025-67842 — XSS in Static Asset APICross-site scripting in the Static Asset API, fixed before 2025-11 release.⁸
  • CVE-2025-67845 — Directory traversalDirectory traversal vulnerability disclosed December 2025.
  • CVE-2025-67846 — Remote code executionRCE vulnerability in Mintlify Platform, tracked by SentinelOne.⁹
  • March 2024 data breachCustomer GitHub tokens were exposed via a compromised third party; Mintlify published an incident report.⁷

What users say

Users love the polish and collaborative editing but repeatedly flag the $250/mo Pro price and AI credit costs as the main pain.

“Mintlify is great for starting out”
Reddit, r/sideprojects
“Lets PMs and support edit”
Reddit, r/knowledgebasetools

Companies that use it

  • Anthropic14
  • HubSpot
  • Lovable
Full analysis

Based on 14+ public sources; some review snippets were truncated, and a few pricing-tier details are marked as guesses.

Beautiful docs teams rate 4.6/5 — but $250/mo Pro, AI credit metering, and a 2024 token breach deter small teams.

Methodology

Based on 14+ public sources; some review snippets were truncated, and a few pricing-tier details are marked as guesses.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. official
  6. news
  7. security
  8. security
  9. security
  10. official
  11. review
  12. review
  13. review
  14. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.