shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use BARD: Braille and Audio Reading Download?

Not disclosed - nlsbard.loc.gov

Depends. If you qualify as blind, print disabled, or have a qualifying reading disability, this free Library of Congress service is a clear yes. If you are not eligible, you cannot sign up at all — access is enforced at login.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources, mostly library guides and the app store listing; no independent user reviews found.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

BARD access

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Blind and print-disabled readers
  • Refreshable braille display users
  • NLS talking-book player owners
  • Readers tired of Libby waitlists

Not for

  • Sighted readers without a qualifying disability
  • Bargain hunters wanting instant self-serve signup
  • General audiobook listeners — Libby or Audible fit better
  • Guess: readers outside the US without NLS enrollment

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Free, but only after disability certification and NLS network library enrollment — signup friction is the real cost.

medium

3.9/5 iOS rating suggests setup friction; expect a learning curve on some devices.

medium

PC-to-cartridge transfers need Windows-only BARD Express; no Mac path listed.

medium

Downloaded books target NLS players and cartridges — mild lock-in to NLS hardware.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Completely free audio and braille books, magazines, and music scores
  • More than 150,000 accessible titles
  • Delivers to iPhone, iPad, Android, tablets, and Fire devices
  • Works with refreshable braille displays
  • All NLS titles always available — no waitlists, unlike Libby

Cons

  • Eligibility-gated: restricted to eligible readers with a required login
  • iOS app rated just 3.9/5 across 196 ratings
  • Signup requires enrollment through a cooperating network library first
  • BARD Express desktop transfer app is Windows-only
  • Sideloading means cartridge/USB transfer workflow for NLS players

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x9review x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Completely free with no hidden costs
  • Ease of use: 3/5. App rated 3.9/5; legacy desktop tools
  • Feature depth: 4/5. 150k+ titles: audio, braille, magazines, music
  • Support quality: 3/5. Cooperating libraries offer toll-free phone assistance
  • Security posture: 4/5. Login-gated federal service; no known issues
  • 3.9/5 App Store rating 196 ratings
  • Free Price For eligible readers
  • 150,000+ Catalog size Audio, braille, magazines, music
  • Eligibility required Access Login issued after NLS enrollment

Pricing

BARD access

$0

  • Audio and braille downloads
  • iOS and Android mobile apps
  • Requires NLS eligibility and enrollment

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Evidence is mostly library guide descriptions rather than independent reviews; the iOS app holds a middling 3.9/5 from 196 ratings.

Alternatives

Compare BARD: Braille and Audio Reading Download with each alternative.

Companies that use it

  • Braille Institute12
  • New Jersey State Library⁶
  • Kansas State Library³
  • Colorado Talking Book Library
  • Arizona State Library⁹
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources, mostly library guides and the app store listing; no independent user reviews found.

Free Library of Congress audio/braille library, 150k+ titles — but strictly eligibility-gated; general readers can't get in.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources, mostly library guides and the app store listing; no independent user reviews found.

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. official
  4. official
  5. review
  6. official
  7. official
  8. official
  9. official
  10. official
  11. review
  12. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.