shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Nielsen Norman Group?

UX research, training, certification, and consulting from one of the field's founding firms. - nngroup.com

Depends. NN/g is the gold standard for UX research training and certification — worth it for practitioners or teams with a real training budget. Skip it if you expect a certificate alone to get you hired, or if roughly $3–5k per person outweighs your career stage.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources: official NN/g pages, Reddit/Quora threads, and independent reviews.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useTraining service, no usability evidence
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security postureTraining firm; no meaningful security evidence

Pricing

$0

Free articles & videos

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Live online coursesPer course; changes periodically
UX Certification~$3–5k total (user-reported)

Best for

  • UX practitioners formalizing credentials
  • Companies upskilling design teams
  • Mid-career designers deepening research skills
  • Teams wanting research-backed UX standards

Not for

  • Job seekers expecting a certificate alone to land roles
  • Small teams without $3–5k per-person training budgets
  • Anyone needing quick tactical answers — free articles cover basics
  • Non-designers wanting general product training

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Certification totals roughly $3–5k per user reports — more than one course's sticker price

medium

Pricing changes periodically; verify current rates before budgeting

medium

Certificate signals coursework done, not job offers; some buyers later advise reconsidering

low

Group discounts require contacting sales; solo attendees pay full price

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Huge free research-based UX article library
  • Structured UX certification recognized across the industry
  • Group discounts available for team training
  • Partial client list shows major companies attending
  • Founded by UX field pioneers in 1998

Cons

  • Certification costs roughly $3–5k per user reports
  • Pricing changes periodically; full costs not upfront
  • Some reviewers say reconsider the certification entirely
  • Community actively debates NN/g's authority and value

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 11 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x7review x4

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Respected credential, but $3–5k sparks frequent worth-it debates
  • Ease of use. Training service, no usability evidence
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Large research library plus courses, reports, videos
  • Support quality. No evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security posture. Training firm; no meaningful security evidence
  • 1998 Founded By UX field pioneers (Nielsen, Norman)
  • ~$3–5k Certification cost Per Reddit user reports
  • Yes Free content Research-based articles and videos at $0
  • Yes Group discounts Team training pricing on official site

Pricing

Free articles & videos

$0

  • Research-based UX articles
  • Videos and summaries

Live online courses

Per course; changes periodically

  • Live UX training
  • Group discounts available

UX Certification

~$3–5k total (user-reported)

  • Multiple exam-qualifying courses
  • UX Certification credential

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reviews are mixed: users respect NN/g's research depth but frequently question whether the certification's $3–5k cost pays off.

“It costs about 3-5k.”
Reddit, r/userexperience

Companies that use it

Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources: official NN/g pages, Reddit/Quora threads, and independent reviews.

Respected UX research training and certification. Worth it for serious practitioners; skip if $3–5k or a job guarantee is the goal.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources: official NN/g pages, Reddit/Quora threads, and independent reviews.

Sources

  1. official
  2. UX Certificationnngroup.com
    official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. official
  6. official
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.