Should I use Paessler PRTG?
Network monitoring software that watches your whole IT infrastructure 24/7 and alerts before users notice. - paessler.com
Depends. Buy if you run mid-size to large hybrid IT/OT infrastructure with staff to own monitoring. Skip it if you're a small team or cloud-native shop — a simpler or open-source tool fits better and costs less.
Confidence
Medium. Based on 40+ public sources; pricing figures not exposed on reviewed pages, so tier prices remain indicative.
Ratings
- Value for money
- Ease of use
- Feature depth
- Support quality
- Security posture
Pricing
$0
Free
ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
PRTG Network MonitorSubscription, sensor-count based
PRTG Enterprise MonitorQuote-based
PRTG in the CloudSubscription
Best for
- →Mid-size to large IT teams
- →Mixed IT/OT industrial environments
- →NOC and MSP monitoring
- →On-premises-heavy infrastructure
Not for
- ×Small teams with a few servers — massive overkill
- ×Cloud-native shops wanting SaaS-first observability
- ×Anyone who just needs uptime pings for a handful of sites
- ×Teams without time to learn and administer a monitoring platform
Gotchas - check before you buy
high
Licensing counts 'sensors' — roughly one monitored metric each; bills multiply fast at scale
medium
Free tier sensor cap runs out quickly; plan capacity before growth
medium
Unpatched installs exposed per 2025–26 advisories; verify your version before buying
low
PRTG in the Cloud is newly launched; feature parity with on-prem is unproven
Pros and cons
Pros
- +Monitors network, servers, OT, protocols, and NOC from one platform
- +Covers industrial OT monitoring, rare among mainstream tools
- +Cloud-hosted option (PRTG in the Cloud) available
- +Large knowledge base and helpdesk for self-serve troubleshooting
- +Long track record — monitoring since 1997
Cons
- −Sensor-count licensing makes costs climb with infrastructure size
- −Two recent vulnerability advisories; staying patched is mandatory
- −Enterprise Monitor tier adds licensing and probe complexity
- −500,000+ user figure is vendor self-reported, not verified
Sources & method
Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 9 sources - Vendor publishes security advisories and a Trust Center; two recent PRTG vulnerability advisories found, no breaches reported in sources.
official x3review x3security x1news x2
- Vulnerabilities in PRTG prior to v25.4.114.1032, Vendor-issued advisory; affected versions require updating to the fixed release.
- Vulnerabilities in PRTG prior to v26.2.120.1449, Vendor-issued advisory; affected versions require updating to the fixed release.
Comments
One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.
No comments yet.