shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Phlearn Review

Depends

Should I use Phlearn?

The Ultimate Guide to Selections & Masking in Photoshop — 17 lessons, 3h 40m of 4K video - phlearn.com

· 5 days ago

Buy if you are a hobbyist or photographer who wants structured, pro-level Photoshop and Lightroom training with a generous free tier. Skip if free YouTube tutorials already cover you, or you need team training, certificates, or live feedback.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~40 public sources; independent review volume is small and pricing coverage is dated (2020–2022).

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityOnly 6 Trustpilot reviews; unproven
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free tutorials

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
PHLEARN PROSubscription — price not shown on homepage

Best for

  • Hobbyist photographers
  • Photoshop beginners
  • Retouchers going pro
  • Lightroom learners

Not for

  • Casual editors happy with free YouTube
  • Teams buying staff training programs
  • Anyone wanting certificates or credentials
  • Learners needing live instruction or feedback

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Full sample files and PSDs are gated behind PRO; free lessons only tease them

medium

PRO is a subscription; streaming and downloads stop when you cancel

medium

Current price is not on the homepage; third-party price data is dated

low

Only 6 Trustpilot reviews make service and billing quality hard to vet

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Large free library including 30 Days of Photoshop
  • PRO unlocks unlimited streaming, downloads, and full sample PSDs
  • New 4K courses, e.g. 17 lessons over 3h 40m on masking
  • Reviewers praise teaching quality over a decade of coverage
  • Independent, bootstrapped company running since 2011

Cons

  • Trustpilot shows just 6 reviews
  • Independent pricing reviews are 2020–2022; possibly outdated
  • Reddit threads repeatedly debate Pro value vs free YouTube

Sources & method

- 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x6news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Generous free tier; Reddit calls Pro worth it
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Beginner paths like 30 Days of Photoshop praised
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Large tutorial library, 4K video, PSD files
  • Support quality. Only 6 Trustpilot reviews; unproven
  • Security posture: 3/5. Standard privacy policy; no public security page
  • Yes Free tier 30 Days of Photoshop + free tutorials
  • 17 lessons Flagship PRO course 3h 40m of 4K video
  • 2011 Founded Bootstrapped; no outside funding
  • 6 Trustpilot reviews Very small independent sample

Pricing

Free tutorials

$0

  • 30 Days of Photoshop
  • Free Photoshop and Lightroom lessons
  • YouTube channel

PHLEARN PRO

Subscription — price not shown on homepage

  • Unlimited streaming of all tutorials
  • Downloads and sample PSDs
  • All Photoshop and Lightroom courses

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reddit and blog reviewers consistently praise the teaching quality, but the independent review volume is tiny.

“Seriously - PHlearn is great.”
Reddit, r/photography
“Both are very good but i prefer PHL”
Reddit, r/photoshop
“We have absolutely loved”
SLR Lounge review

Alternatives

Compare Phlearn with each alternative.

  • PiXimperfect

    Free, deep Photoshop tutorials on YouTube; top community pick.

  • KelbyOne

    Rival paid Photoshop and photography membership; compare prices first.

    Phlearn vs KelbyOne
  • Adobe in-app tutorials

    Guess: free official lessons built into Photoshop itself.

Full analysis

Based on ~40 public sources; independent review volume is small and pricing coverage is dated (2020–2022).

Well-liked Photoshop/Lightroom video school with a big free tier; buy only if you outgrow free YouTube.

Methodology

Based on ~40 public sources; independent review volume is small and pricing coverage is dated (2020–2022).

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. Join PHLEARN PROphlearn.com
    official
  7. official
  8. official
  9. news
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.