shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

PkgPulse Review

Worth it

Should I use PkgPulse?

Make informed decisions when choosing JavaScript packages. Compare health scores, bundle sizes, download trends, and more at pkgpulse.com - pkgpulse.com

· 1 month ago

Use it if you regularly pick between npm packages and want health scores, bundle sizes, and trends in one free place. Skip it if you need enforced dependency scanning, audited data, or coverage beyond JavaScript.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 30+ public sources; most detailed pages are PkgPulse's own site, with limited independent user reviews.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Not disclosed

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • JS devs comparing npm packages
  • Bundle-size conscious frontend teams
  • Pre-adoption dependency vetting
  • AI agents needing package data (MCP)

Not for

  • Teams needing enforced dependency scanning — use Snyk or Socket instead
  • Compliance-driven procurement wanting audited, certified data
  • Non-JavaScript stacks — same-named PyPI/Go projects are unrelated tools
  • Anyone expecting real-time data — corrections go through manual editorial review

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

No pricing tiers listed anywhere; future monetization could shrink free features

medium

Benchmark claims (install speed, test times) are self-run tests, not independently verified

low

Guide pages funnel readers into email newsletters ('Used by 500+ devs')

low

Verify you're on; same-named Go/PyPI tools do unrelated things

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free and open-source, per its own About page
  • Composite health score aggregates npm and GitHub signals
  • Side-by-side bundle size and download trend comparisons
  • Benchmark data cited by independent blogs and developer posts
  • MCP server exposes package data to AI coding agents

Cons

  • Security page returned no content in our review
  • Corrections require manual editorial submission, not real-time updates
  • Name collides with unrelated PyPI, Go, and GitHub projects
  • Flagship benchmark numbers come from PkgPulse's own tests

Sources & method

- 9 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x3security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Free and open-source per About page
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Browser-based compare; no setup cited
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Scores, sizes, trends, guides, MCP server
  • Support quality: 2/5. Correction form only; no support channel found
  • Security posture: 2/5. Security page returned no content in review
  • Free Price Open-source, per About page
  • 500+ Self-reported users Per PkgPulse guide footers
  • npm + GitHub Health signals Aggregated per PkgPulse guides

Pricing

Free tier: Yes

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

Full analysis

Based on 30+ public sources; most detailed pages are PkgPulse's own site, with limited independent user reviews.

Free npm package comparison: health, bundle size, trends. Good research aid; not a security scanner.

Methodology

Based on 30+ public sources; most detailed pages are PkgPulse's own site, with limited independent user reviews.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. About PkgPulsepkgpulse.com
    official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. security
  6. review
  7. news
  8. review
  9. review

Add this review to your site

PkgPulse earned a Worth it check.

Put the badge on your site, pricing page, or docs.

Visitors see an independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.