shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Rakuten Review

Depends

Should I use Rakuten?

Since 1999, we've paid our members over $3.6 Billion in Cash Back. Join now for an extra 10% Cash Back boost. Shop 3,500+ stores using coupons or cash back! - rakuten.com

· 1 month ago

Join if you shop online often and can shrug off occasional missed tracking — it's free and often pays. Skip it if you need guaranteed, reliable rebates; slow and disputed payouts are a recurring complaint.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources: Reddit, Trustpilot, ConsumerAffairs, Quora, a California AG breach notice, and Rakuten's own pages.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free membership

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Frequent online shoppers at big chains
  • Coupon stackers
  • Patient savers okay with slow payouts

Not for

  • Anyone who needs cash back to reliably track — it often doesn't
  • Privacy-sensitive users wary of granting email access
  • Buyers expecting instant rebates at checkout
  • People unwilling to chase missing cash back with support

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Cash back can take months to pay and sometimes never tracks; the top complaint across review sites.

high

Rakuten USA filed a data breach notice in January 2021; public details are limited.

medium

Boosted rates and promos are described as misleading by some users; read exclusions before buying.

medium

A Google support thread flags that Rakuten requests access to your email upon joining.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free to join; $3.6 billion paid to members since 1999.
  • Cash back and coupons across 3,500+ stores.
  • Rakuten+ advertises at least 10% cash back daily.
  • 4/5 Trustpilot rating for Rakuten USA.
  • Some users report years of consistently good payouts.

Cons

  • Users report very slow cash back and misleading rates.
  • Reddit threads call it increasingly unreliable, with tracking disputes.
  • Some users now ask if it is 'pretty much a scam lately'.
  • Disputes leave some longtime members done with the service.
  • January 2021 data breach disclosed by Rakuten USA.

Sources & method

- 11 sources - 2021 US breach notice on file; recent CVEs hit sibling products (Viber, Kobo, Send Anywhere), not the cash-back portal itself.

official x2review x7security x2
  • Rakuten USA data breach (2021), California AG 'Notice of Data Event' filed on or about January 21, 2021.
  • CVE-2025-13476 — Rakuten Viber, Cryptographic information-disclosure flaw in Viber, a sibling product — not the shopping portal.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Free; $3.6B paid out, though payouts can lag.
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Join once, shop via app or extension.
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Coupons plus cash back; nothing deeper.
  • Support quality: 2/5. Multiple complaints about disputes and slow resolution.
  • Security posture: 2/5. 2021 breach notice; sibling-product CVEs.
  • 4/5 Trustpilot rating Rakuten (USA)
  • $3.6B Cash back paid to members since 1999
  • 3,500+ Partner stores coupons + cash back
  • 1999 Operating since formerly Ebates

Pricing

Free membership

$0

  • Cash back at 3,500+ stores
  • Coupon codes
  • Promotional 10% boost offers

Security

2021 US breach notice on file; recent CVEs hit sibling products (Viber, Kobo, Send Anywhere), not the cash-back portal itself.

  • Rakuten USA data breach (2021)California AG 'Notice of Data Event' filed on or about January 21, 2021.⁹
  • CVE-2025-13476 — Rakuten ViberCryptographic information-disclosure flaw in Viber, a sibling product — not the shopping portal.
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources: Reddit, Trustpilot, ConsumerAffairs, Quora, a California AG breach notice, and Rakuten's own pages.

Free cash-back portal that mostly works, but payouts are slow and sometimes disputed — treat it as gravy, not guaranteed savings.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources: Reddit, Trustpilot, ConsumerAffairs, Quora, a California AG breach notice, and Rakuten's own pages.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. security
  10. security
  11. review

Add this review to your site

This check for Rakuten says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.