shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use RealVNC?

Remote access software for desktop and mobile - realvnc.com

Depends. Buy if you're an IT team needing reliable, cross-platform remote access to managed devices. Skip it if you're a home or casual user — the free tier was removed in 2024 and prices are rising.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~40 public sources; many review snippets were truncated.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo usable support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

from $16.50

Connect (entry)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
EnterpriseCustom quote

Best for

  • IT teams on mixed-OS fleets
  • Education IT remote access
  • Businesses wanting audited security

Not for

  • Home users — free tier killed in 2024
  • Anyone wanting free remote access
  • Budget buyers — price hikes reported
  • Security teams that forbid VNC

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Personal/home free tier gone — even hobbyists must pay after trial

medium

Pricing has increased; verify current rates before committing

medium

V8 resolution problems reported — test your setup before renewing

medium

Reddit threads show users migrating to free/open alternatives over pricing

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 4.7/5 on G2 across 440 reviews
  • Users consistently praise ease of use
  • Viewer and server apps across desktop, iOS, and Android
  • First remote access vendor to pass a white-box security audit
  • Officially GDPR-compliant per vendor documentation

Cons

  • Free home tier removed in May 2024; subscriptions now mandatory
  • Users report access cut off after tier changes
  • Users report price increases
  • VNC Connect v8 criticized for poor resolution
  • Cybersecurity communities warn businesses against VNC for remote support

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/06/2026 - 12 sources - Two notable CVEs in its history (2006 auth bypass, 2022 privilege escalation); vendor touts white-box audit and GDPR compliance.

official x2review x6security x2news x2
  • CVE-2022-41975 — VNC Server privilege escalation, Privilege escalation flaw in RealVNC VNC Server listed in SentinelOne vulnerability database
  • CVE-2006-2369 — Remote authentication bypass, Historic authentication bypass in RealVNC, widely disclosed in 2006

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • from $16.50

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Free tier killed, price hikes reported
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Users praise ease of use on G2
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Enterprise tier, mobile apps, education integrations
  • Support quality. No usable support evidence found
  • Security posture: 3/5. Past CVEs, but passes white-box audits
  • 4.7/5 G2 rating 440 reviews
  • $16.50 Starting price per Capterra listing
  • No Free tier home tier removed May 2024
  • Yes Free trial trial before paid subscription

Pricing

Connect (entry)

from $16.50

  • Starting price per Capterra listing
  • Free trial offered

Enterprise

Not disclosed

  • For sensitive and isolated environments

Security

Two notable CVEs in its history (2006 auth bypass, 2022 privilege escalation); vendor touts white-box audit and GDPR compliance.

  • CVE-2022-41975 — VNC Server privilege escalationPrivilege escalation flaw in RealVNC VNC Server listed in SentinelOne vulnerability database⁸
  • CVE-2006-2369 — Remote authentication bypassHistoric authentication bypass in RealVNC, widely disclosed in 2006⁹

What users say

Reviewers praise ease of use and cross-platform reach, but home users are angry about losing the free tier.

“I'd really like to thank RealVNC for cutting off access to the ...”
Reddit, r/realvnc
“If you're a business (etc), don't use VNC for remote support”
Reddit, r/cybersecurity
“Employees creeped out by VNC”
Reddit, r/sysadmin

Companies that use it

  • Roadchef12
Full analysis

Based on ~40 public sources; many review snippets were truncated.

Solid, audited remote access for IT teams, but the free home tier is gone and prices keep rising. Home users: look elsewhere.

Methodology

Based on ~40 public sources; many review snippets were truncated.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. review
  8. security
  9. security
  10. official
  11. official
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.