shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Shelly Europe Review

Depends

Should I use Shelly Europe?

Shelly provides advanced smart home automation solutions for seamless control of lighting, temperature, and energy. - shelly.cloud

· 5 hours ago

Buy if you're an EU-based DIY smart home user, especially on Home Assistant. Skip if you want polished plug-and-play or live outside Shelly's supported store regions.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 25+ public sources: App Store, Reddit, Trustpilot, Facebook groups, official docs, and retailer listings.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Hardware (one-time)

From ~€75.90 (Pro-series, EU store)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Shelly App PremiumSubscription (price not published)

Best for

  • DIY smart home tinkerers
  • Home Assistant users
  • EU households wanting energy monitoring
  • Small retrofit projects (farms, rentals, campgrounds)

Not for

  • US buyers expecting plug-and-play — EU hardware and stores are region-limited
  • Anyone needing fast, reliable direct-store shipping or support
  • Buyers wanting polished consumer setup over DIY configuration
  • Teams needing a managed, subscription-style automation service

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

User reports advise against Shelly's own EU shop; resellers like Amazon may be safer

medium

Check regional compatibility before buying — EU hardware may not suit US power systems

medium

UK store runs pricier than other regional stores for the same devices

low

Premium app tier exists; its price is not published in the sources reviewed

Pros and cons

Pros

  • App rated 4.7/5 on the App Store
  • Broad catalog: dimmers, plugs, sensors, displays, Z-Wave and Matter lines
  • Popular with the Home Assistant and DIY community
  • Publishes detailed documentation and DIY developer resources
  • Maintains a public product security page

Cons

  • Direct-store shipping reported as very slow
  • Some countries blocked from buying via the official shop
  • UK store prices higher than other regional stores
  • Website criticized on Trustpilot despite praised hardware
  • EU-region devices questionable for US buyers

Sources & method

- 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x6security x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • From ~€75.90 (Pro-series, EU store)

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Affordable hardware; UK store pricing inconsistent
  • Ease of use: 4/5. App rated 4.7/5; setup skews DIY
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Huge catalog: Wi-Fi, Zigbee, Z-Wave, Matter, energy monitoring
  • Support quality: 2/5. Slow shipping and store complaints recur
  • Security posture: 3/5. Public security page; no vulns found in sources
  • 4.7/5 App Store rating Shelly Smart Control app
  • €75.90 Starting price Pro-series device, EU store
  • Yes Free tier App control free; optional Premium tier

Pricing

Hardware (one-time)

From ~€75.90 (Pro-series, EU store)

  • Relays, dimmers, sensors, plugs, wall displays
  • No subscription required for core control

Shelly App Premium

Subscription (price not published)

  • Premium app features

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Users praise the hardware and app (4.7/5) but frequently complain about the company's own online store, including slow shipping and regional restrictions.

“Don't buy from Shelly Europe's online shop”
Reddit, r/homeassistant
“Very slow shipping.”
Reddit, r/shellycloud
“Can Shelly Europe devices be used in the US”
Reddit, r/ShellyUSA

Companies that use it

  • Kbuca Farming11
Full analysis

Based on 25+ public sources: App Store, Reddit, Trustpilot, Facebook groups, official docs, and retailer listings.

Solid, DIY-friendly smart home hardware at fair prices; buy via resellers — Shelly's own store draws shipping complaints.

Methodology

Based on 25+ public sources: App Store, Reddit, Trustpilot, Facebook groups, official docs, and retailer listings.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. official
  7. official
  8. official
  9. security
  10. security
  11. official
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.