Should I use Solidworks?
Skip to main content - solidworks.com
Depends. Buy if your team designs products full-time and needs industry-standard CAD with simulation and PDM. Skip it if you model occasionally — users say subscriptions keep climbing while skills and usage fade.
Confidence
Medium. Based on ~30 public sources; full-seat pricing sits behind reseller quotes, so cost confidence is medium.
Ratings
- Value for money
- Ease of use
- Feature depth
- Support qualityNo usable support evidence found
- Security posture
Pricing
$48/year
SOLIDWORKS for Makers
ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Standard (professional seat)Quote via reseller
Startup programDiscounted; $0 first year reported
Best for
- →Full-time mechanical and product designers
- →Engineering teams needing simulation plus PDM
- →Startups via the SOLIDWORKS startup program
- →Hobbyists at the $48 Maker tier
Not for
- ×Occasional users — subscription cost outpaces rare use
- ×Casual makers wanting simple, cheap tools
- ×Mac-only teams — desktop CAD is Windows-bound
- ×Buyers demanding transparent public pricing
Gotchas - check before you buy
high
Users report ~25% yearly subscription increases; costs compound every renewal
medium
No public full-seat price; you must request quotes from resellers like GoEngineer or Hawk Ridge
medium
Cloud/Maker offerings run through 3DEXPERIENCE, whose UI draws user complaints
medium
Active 2026 CVEs mean you must patch desktop and eDrawings promptly
Pros and cons
Pros
- +Industry-standard 3D CAD with decades of user-driven development
- +Broad ecosystem: design, simulation, PDM, Composer in one suite
- +Huge installed base and community for hiring and help
- +$48/yr Maker tier makes pro-grade CAD accessible to hobbyists
- +Users consistently praise it on G2
Cons
- −Subscriptions rose 25% in a year, per users
- −Users call it the worst software for occasional use
- −2026 CVEs include desktop RCE and eDrawings buffer overflow
- −Makers criticize the 3DEXPERIENCE UI
- −Full-seat pricing is opaque and sold via resellers
Sources & method
Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 12 sources - Multiple 2026 CVEs (desktop RCE, eDrawings buffer overflow, path traversal) plus a reported 2021 solidworks.com breach; patch discipline required.
official x3review x4security x3news x2
- SOLIDWORKS Desktop RCE (CVE-2026-3476), Remote code execution vulnerability in SOLIDWORKS Desktop, disclosed March 2026.
- eDrawings buffer overflow (CVE-2026-1283), Buffer overflow in the eDrawings viewer, addressed in 2026 advisories.
- Path traversal (CVE-2026-10094), Path traversal vulnerability affecting SOLIDWORKS, per Dassault Systèmes advisory.
- solidworks.com data breach (2021), Public reporting of a 2021 breach of the website.
Comments
One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.
No comments yet.