shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use The American College of Financial Services?

Nonprofit provider of financial-services designations (CFP, ChFC, RICP) - theamericancollege.edu

Depends. Worth buying only if you're a financial advisor or firm paying for CFP/ChFC/RICP designations or CE credits — it's the category standard. Casual learners and non-finance professionals should use free resources instead.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~14 public sources; several review snippets truncated or about the unrelated Madurai namesake.

Ratings

  • Value for moneyNo comparable price data in evidence
  • Ease of useNo usability evidence available
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo buyer-facing support evidence
  • Security posture

Pricing

Varies; published tuition and fees

Designation programs (CFP, ChFC, RICP)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Free financial literacy program$0

Best for

  • Advisors pursuing CFP, ChFC, or RICP designations
  • Firms funding advisor credentials
  • CFP pros needing CE credits
  • Financial-services researchers

Not for

  • Casual learners wanting personal-finance basics — use free resources
  • Non-finance professionals; curriculum is advisor-specific
  • Buyers comparing it to software tools — it's a school
  • Anyone unwilling to commit months and recertification fees

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Designations require ongoing recertification (PRP); sessions have seasonal deadlines

medium

Refund policy governs dropped courses — read before enrolling

medium

96 domain credentials in infostealer logs — expect targeted phishing

low

Discounted pricing restrictions noted on College at a Glance page

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Nation's largest nonprofit financial-services education provider
  • Publishes tuition, fees, and refund policy openly
  • Offers free financial literacy program, Know Yourself, Grow Your Wealth
  • Runs research centers for financial security and retirement income
  • CFP review courses offered live and on-demand

Cons

  • Online reviews conflate it with unrelated same-named colleges
  • Professional programs show no free tier; full tuition applies
  • Course pricing buried in PDF price lists, not upfront

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/04/2026 - 11 sources - No known breaches; 96 domain credentials appear in infostealer data; SSL configuration publicly tested.

official x4review x3security x2news x2
  • 96 credentials in infostealer logs, Hudson Rock lists 96 credentials from infostealer malware — credential exposure risk, not a confirmed breach.

Key stats

  • Feature depth: 4/5

    Rating

  • Varies; published tuition and fees

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money. No comparable price data in evidence
  • Ease of use. No usability evidence available
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Largest nonprofit in category; multiple designations and research centers
  • Support quality. No buyer-facing support evidence
  • Security posture: 3/5. SSL publicly tested; 96 infostealer credentials on domain
  • Private nonprofit Institution type Per Wikipedia
  • Yes Free literacy program Know Yourself, Grow Your Wealth
  • Live + On Demand CFP review format Dalton review price list
  • 96 Infostealer credentials Hudson Rock domain check

Pricing

Designation programs (CFP, ChFC, RICP)

Varies; published tuition and fees

  • Tuition and fees page lists costs
  • Refund policy applies

Free financial literacy program

$0

  • Know Yourself, Grow Your Wealth

Security

No known breaches; 96 domain credentials appear in infostealer data; SSL configuration publicly tested.

  • 96 credentials in infostealer logsHudson Rock lists 96 credentials from infostealer malware — credential exposure risk, not a confirmed breach.⁸

What users say

Advisor communities (r/CFP, Bogleheads) take the curriculum seriously, but snippets are truncated and some review sites cover the unrelated Indian namesake.

Companies that use it

  • Northwestern Mutual
  • Voya Financial
  • Guild
  • D2L11
Full analysis

Based on ~14 public sources; several review snippets truncated or about the unrelated Madurai namesake.

Not software: the nonprofit college behind CFP/ChFC/RICP designations. Right call for advisors; overkill for casual learners.

Methodology

Based on ~14 public sources; several review snippets truncated or about the unrelated Madurai namesake.

Sources

  1. official
  2. Tuition and Feestheamericancollege.edu
    official
  3. Refund Policytheamericancollege.edu
    official
  4. Dalton CFP Review price listtheamericancollege.edu
    official
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. security
  9. security
  10. news
  11. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.