shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Thebookchief Review

Depends

Should I use Thebookchief?

Hybrid book publishing house (The Book Chief Publishing House) - thebookchief.com

· 1 week ago

Buy only if you are an author wanting done-for-you hybrid publishing and are comfortable with quote-based, unpublished costs; 300+ authors published since 2021. Not software — tool shoppers should skip, and DIY authors get better economics on Amazon KDP and IngramSpark.

Confidence

Low. Based on ~20 public sources; independent client reviews scarce, so confidence is low.

Ratings

  • Value for moneyNo pricing or outcome evidence
  • Ease of useNo usability evidence; service, not software
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo client support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

Not disclosed

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • First-time authors wanting done-for-you publishing
  • UK-based authors (Lydian Group Ltd)
  • Nonfiction/business author brands
  • Collaborative/community book projects

Not for

  • Tool shoppers — this is a human publishing service, not software
  • Authors wanting fixed prices before talking to sales
  • DIY authors happy uploading to KDP and IngramSpark themselves
  • Writers expecting traditional-publisher prestige or advances

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Most online 'reviews' are the firm's own book blogging, not client feedback

medium

Pricing hidden; expect quote-based sales calls — the classic hybrid-publisher pattern

medium

Hybrid fees can dwarf DIY: KDP and IngramSpark uploads cost nothing upfront

low

Contracting entity is Lydian Group Ltd trading as The Book Chief — read the agreement

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 300+ authors published since 2021
  • Offers traditional submission route alongside hybrid packages
  • Full-service: editing, publishing, marketing, magazine, collaborative books
  • Publishes genuinely useful free guides on KDP vs IngramSpark and costs

Cons

  • No published pricing; costs only via sales conversations
  • Founded 2021; track record is self-reported, small outfit
  • Not software — useless if you came here for a tool
  • Near-zero independent client reviews found in public sources

Sources & method

- 6 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x2news x1

Key stats

  • Feature depth: 3/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 6

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money. No pricing or outcome evidence
  • Ease of use. No usability evidence; service, not software
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Broad service menu; depth unverified
  • Support quality. No client support evidence found
  • Security posture: 3/5. Publishes a security page; no substantive detail
  • 2021 Founded Per LinkedIn company page
  • 300+ Authors published Self-reported since 2021
  • None Published pricing Quote-based via sales contact

Pricing

Free tier: No

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Independent client reviews are nearly absent; most review-looking content is the company's own book-blogging channels.

Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; independent client reviews scarce, so confidence is low.

UK hybrid publisher for authors, not software. 300+ authors since 2021, pricing hidden; DIY via Amazon KDP is far cheaper.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; independent client reviews scarce, so confidence is low.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. news
  5. review
  6. review

Add this review to your site

This check for Thebookchief says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.