shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Thinkific Review

Depends

Should I use Thinkific?

Online course platform to sell courses and communities - thinkific.com

· 1 month ago

Buy if you're a creator or small business selling structured courses and can live with $49+/month. Skip if you need deep analytics, a genuinely free tier, or enterprise-grade LMS reporting.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 40+ public sources; many review snippets were truncated, so verbatim quotes were omitted.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Basic$49/mo
Higher tiersup to $199/mo

Best for

  • Solo creators selling courses
  • Small businesses doing customer training
  • Coaches bundling courses and communities
  • Knowledge entrepreneurs scaling past $100M

Not for

  • Data-driven teams — users call the analytics weak
  • Anyone needing a free-forever simple course page
  • Corporate L&D wanting enterprise-grade reporting
  • Budget sellers — the $49 tier locks too much

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Entry $49/mo plan reportedly gates core features; expect upsells to get real value

medium

Free plan availability is disputed — at least one 2026 review covers 'without the free plan'

medium

Trustpilot shows complaints about difficulty cancelling subscriptions

medium

Analytics weaker than rivals per Reddit comparisons; migration threads suggest some churn

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Holds a 4.5/5 rating across major review platforms
  • Creators have sold $3.7B in courses on the platform
  • Serves 35,000+ creators; proven at scale
  • Positioned for corporate customer training, not just hobby courses
  • Repeatedly recognized by G2 among top software companies

Cons

  • The $49 plan locks out too many features, reviewers say
  • Users report frustration trying to cancel
  • Users on Reddit criticize the data analytics
  • Multiple 2026 roundups pitch cheaper alternatives

Sources & method

- 10 sources - Publishes a security overview, DPA and GDPR guidance, but two CVEs are on record.

official x2review x5security x3
  • CVE-2020-35698, Vulnerability affecting Thinkific's online course creation platform, tracked in the GitHub Advisory Database.
  • CVE-2022-2426 — stored XSS in Thinkific Uploader WordPress plugin, Admin+ stored cross-site scripting in the Thinkific Uploader plugin versions ≤1.0.0.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. $49 tier reportedly locks out too much
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Users report smooth course creation and hosting
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Courses, communities, Plus tier for larger orgs
  • Support quality: 2/5. Cancellation friction reported on Trustpilot
  • Security posture: 3/5. Mature program, but two public CVEs exist
  • 4.5/5 Review rating across 840+ G2 reviews
  • $49/mo Starting price paid plans run $49–$199/mo
  • Disputed Free tier some 2026 reviews say it's gone
  • 2012 Founded Vancouver, Canada

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Basic course hosting
  • Listed in 2026 pricing guides

Basic

$49/mo

  • Entry paid tier
  • Reviewers say key features locked

Higher tiers

up to $199/mo

  • Full feature set
  • Plus tier sold separately for enterprise

Security

Publishes a security overview, DPA and GDPR guidance, but two CVEs are on record.

  • CVE-2020-35698Vulnerability affecting Thinkific's online course creation platform, tracked in the GitHub Advisory Database.⁷
  • CVE-2022-2426 — stored XSS in Thinkific Uploader WordPress pluginAdmin+ stored cross-site scripting in the Thinkific Uploader plugin versions ≤1.0.0.⁸

What users say

Users rate Thinkific around 4.5/5 and like course creation, but complain about feature paywalls, analytics, and cancellation friction.

Companies that use it

  • IntelyCare10
  • Mayple
  • PaySheperd
  • Elizabeth Rider
Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources; many review snippets were truncated, so verbatim quotes were omitted.

Solid 4.5/5 course platform for creators, but the $49 entry tier gates features and rivals cost less.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources; many review snippets were truncated, so verbatim quotes were omitted.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. official
  5. review
  6. review
  7. security
  8. security
  9. security
  10. official

Add this review to your site

This check for Thinkific says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.