shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Gumroad Review

Depends

Should I use Gumroad?

Start selling what you know, see what sticks, and get paid. Simple and effective. - gumroad.com

· 1 month ago

Buy it if you're a first-time creator selling ebooks or digital downloads with zero upfront cost. Skip it if you sell at volume — the ~10-13% effective fees and payout-hold complaints make it expensive and risky at scale.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources: official pricing, G2/Trustpilot/Product Hunt reviews, Reddit seller threads, and CVE databases.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

10% + 50¢ per direct sale

Pay per sale

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees10% + 50¢
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • First-time digital sellers
  • Ebook and template creators
  • Testing product ideas cheaply
  • No-monthly-fee side hustles

Not for

  • High-volume sellers — 10%+ fees compound brutally
  • Software vendors needing licensing and support tooling
  • Thin-margin products where ~13% kills profit
  • Sellers who can't risk frozen payouts

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Advertised 10% fee is really ~12.9% once hidden charges land

high

Marketplace/Discover sales cost 30% — triple the direct rate

high

Trustpilot and Reddit reports of held or frozen payouts

medium

Stored XSS CVE (2023-45059) listed with no known fix

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Zero upfront cost — pay only when you sell
  • Reviewers praise its simplicity for getting started fast
  • Quick setup track record going back to 2016
  • Designed to get creators their first dollar online

Cons

  • 10% + 50¢ per sale; effective cost near 12.9%
  • Discover marketplace sales take 30%
  • Trustpilot reviews allege scam behavior and held funds
  • Recent missing-authorization vulnerability (CVSS 7.1) disclosed

Sources & method

- 10 sources - Runs a HackerOne bug bounty, but has a recent CVSS 7.1 missing-authorization CVE and a stored XSS flaw with no known fix.

official x2review x5security x2news x1
  • CVE-2026-59805: Missing Authorization (CVSS 7.1), Affects Gumroad before version 2026.07.06.2; rated high severity by vulnerability databases.
  • CVE-2023-45059: Contributor+ Stored XSS, Stored cross-site scripting in the Gumroad WordPress plugin, listed by WPScan with no known fix.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • 10% + 50¢ per direct sale

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Effective ~12.9% fees; sellers call them insane
  • Ease of use: 5/5. Reviewers repeatedly praise simplicity and easy setup
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Simple core; rivals market themselves as more powerful
  • Support quality: 2/5. Trustpilot complaints about held funds persist
  • Security posture: 2/5. CVSS 7.1 missing-authorization CVE; unfixed stored XSS
  • 4.2/5 G2 rating 16 reviews
  • 10% + 50¢ Direct sale fee 30% via Discover marketplace
  • Yes Free tier No monthly fee; pay per sale
  • $23.8M ARR Est. revenue ~$100M valuation (2024)

Pricing

Pay per sale

10% + 50¢ per direct sale

  • No monthly fee
  • 30% fee on Discover marketplace sales
  • Only pay when you sell

Security

Runs a HackerOne bug bounty, but has a recent CVSS 7.1 missing-authorization CVE and a stored XSS flaw with no known fix.

  • CVE-2026-59805: Missing Authorization (CVSS 7.1)Affects Gumroad before version 2026.07.06.2; rated high severity by vulnerability databases.⁸
  • CVE-2023-45059: Contributor+ Stored XSSStored cross-site scripting in the Gumroad WordPress plugin, listed by WPScan with no known fix.⁹

What users say

Creators love Gumroad's simplicity and free setup but widely complain about the ~10-13% effective fees, payout holds, and declining organic sales.

“Absolute scam – Held my”
Trustpilot review
“Gumroad fees are insane”
Reddit, r/ecommerce
“I did the math on what Gumroad fees actually cost at different revenue levels and the numbers are worse than I thought”
Reddit, r/DigitalProductEmpir

Companies that use it

  • MaxPacks (creator shop)¹
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources: official pricing, G2/Trustpilot/Product Hunt reviews, Reddit seller threads, and CVE databases.

Great for testing your first digital product; ~10%+ fees and payout holds hurt at scale.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources: official pricing, G2/Trustpilot/Product Hunt reviews, Reddit seller threads, and CVE databases.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. security
  9. security
  10. news

Add this review to your site

This check for Gumroad says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.