shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Truist Review

Depends

Should I use Truist?

Full-service national bank (SunTrust + BB&T merger) - truist.com

· 17 hours ago

Choose Truist only if you want in-person, full-service branch banking in its Southeast/Mid-Atlantic footprint. Savers chasing yield or fee-averse users should pick an online bank or credit union instead.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 25+ public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, official fee schedules, and breach disclosures.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$12/mo or $0 with waivers

Truist One Checking

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees$12/mo
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Truist One SavingsBasic, low APY
Truist One Money Market$50 minimum opening deposit

Best for

  • In-person banking in the Southeast/Mid-Atlantic
  • Full-service households (checking, mortgage, wealth)
  • Existing SunTrust/BB&T customers staying put

Not for

  • Savers chasing high-yield APY
  • Fee-averse users who can't hit waivers
  • Online-only banking purists
  • Anyone needing fast, competent fraud support

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Very low savings APY versus online banks, reviewers say

high

Users report long deposit holds and account freezes without warning

medium

Truist One Checking: $12 monthly fee plus $25 annual fee unless waivers apply

medium

2026 price changes hit packaged accounts starting January 1

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Full-service: checking, mortgages, wealth, and commercial banking under one roof
  • Mobile app with Zelle called one of its strongest assets
  • Truist One Checking has no overdraft fees
  • Fitch cites conservative credit culture and solid asset quality

Cons

  • High fees and minimal savings yields, reviewers conclude
  • Customer-service interactions widely described as negative
  • Confirmed customer-data breaches in 2023 and 2024
  • Users report unusually long deposit holds versus community banks
  • Fraud department criticized; accounts reportedly frozen or closed abruptly

Sources & method

- 12 sources - Regulated FDIC-insured bank with a security center, but two confirmed breach events since 2023.

official x2review x7security x1news x2
  • 2023 data breach, Cybercriminals offered Truist data for sale; the bank confirmed a 2023 breach.
  • 2024 third-party (FBCS) breach, Customer data exposed through collections vendor Financial Business and Consumer Solutions.
  • Reported scale of breach, A report circulating on Reddit says roughly 65,000 employee and customer records were involved.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $12/mo or $0 with waivers

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Low savings APY, $12 checking fee, high-fee complaints
  • Ease of use: 3/5. App praised by some, clunky per others
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Deposit, mortgage, wealth, and commercial banking in-house
  • Support quality: 2/5. Widespread negative customer-service reports
  • Security posture: 2/5. Confirmed 2023 breach plus 2024 third-party exposure
  • 8.1/10 Aggregated score 13 sources (JumpSteps)
  • $12/mo Checking maintenance fee $0 with waivers; students under 25 exempt
  • 2 since 2023 Data breaches 2023 direct; 2024 via vendor FBCS

Pricing

Truist One Checking

$12/mo or $0 with waivers

  • No overdraft fees
  • Waived for students under 25
  • $25 annual fee per fee schedule

Truist One Savings

Basic, low APY

  • No-frills account
  • Minimal interest rates

Truist One Money Market

$50 minimum opening deposit

  • Money market rates
  • Branch and app access

Security

Regulated FDIC-insured bank with a security center, but two confirmed breach events since 2023.

  • 2023 data breachCybercriminals offered Truist data for sale; the bank confirmed a 2023 breach.⁸
  • 2024 third-party (FBCS) breachCustomer data exposed through collections vendor Financial Business and Consumer Solutions.⁹
  • Reported scale of breachA report circulating on Reddit says roughly 65,000 employee and customer records were involved.

What users say

Reviews skew negative — fees, low savings rates, and customer service draw the most complaints, while the mobile app and branch convenience earn some praise.

“This is a really lousy bank. They place unusually long holds on deposits vs other community banks.”
Reddit, r/TruistBank
“Truist's fraud department is a joke. I lost my card and within 20 minutes I realized it was lost”
Reddit, r/TruistBank
“When the bank rebranded itself as Truist, we noticed a change. I'm talking about a noticeable change,”
Reddit, r/TruistBank (12-year customer)

Alternatives

Compare Truist with each alternative.

  • Ally Bank

    Online bank with high-yield savings and no monthly maintenance fees.

  • Local credit unions

    Lower fees, real humans, fewer deposit-hold complaints.

  • Capital One 360

    App-first hybrid banking with better rates than Truist.

  • Marcus by Goldman Sachs

    Simple savings vehicle for yield-focused savers.

Full analysis

Based on 25+ public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, official fee schedules, and breach disclosures.

Full-service big bank with branches and a good app, but low APY, stacked fees, and weak customer-service reviews.

Methodology

Based on 25+ public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, official fee schedules, and breach disclosures.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. Truist Bank Review 2025blog.walletmonkey.com
    review
  7. review
  8. security
  9. news
  10. news
  11. official
  12. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.