shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

UpGuard Review

Depends

Should I use UpGuard?

UpGuard is the only platform that unifies cyber risk management across your vendor supply chain, attack surface, and human workforce. - upguard.com

· 1 month ago

Buy if you're a mid-size or larger org with dozens of vendors and budget to act on findings. Skip it if you're small — $1,599+/month is heavy spend for a short vendor list.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources: G2, Gartner, Reddit threads, pricing trackers, and UpGuard official pages. Review snippets were truncated in sources; pricing figures vary slightly between trackers.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

$1,599–$1,750/mo billed annually

Vendor Risk (Standard, self-service)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Breach Risk (self-service)Tiered; see site

Best for

  • Orgs with dozens of third-party vendors
  • Mid-size and enterprise security teams
  • Companies drowning in vendor security questionnaires
  • Teams monitoring their external attack surface

Not for

  • Startups that can track vendors in a spreadsheet
  • Anyone with fewer than ~10 third-party vendors
  • Teams wanting pure compliance automation (get Vanta)
  • Buyers without budget to remediate what it finds

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Entry price billed annually — roughly $19,000+ upfront commitment

medium

Vendor Risk and Breach Risk have separate self-service plans and separate pricing

medium

UpGuard updates scoring algorithms, which can move your or vendors' scores

medium

Published entry prices cover self-service modules only; bigger deployments go through sales

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 4.5/5 across 771 G2 reviews
  • Publishes pricing publicly — rare among security-rating vendors
  • Unifies vendor risk, attack surface and user risk in one platform
  • Reddit users report improved vendor-risk workflows
  • Named winner for third-party and supplier risk, April 2026

Cons

  • Entry pricing ~$1,599–$1,750/month is steep for small teams
  • Vendor Risk and Breach Risk sold as separate plans; full platform needs sales
  • Scoring algorithm changes can shift vendor ratings over time

Sources & method

- 13 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x5review x3security x1news x4

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $1,599–$1,750/mo billed annually

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. From ~$1,599/mo annually; steep
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Users report easier, improved vendor-risk workflows
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Vendor, breach and user risk unified
  • Support quality. No support evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security posture: 4/5. No public vulnerabilities found; publishes security page
  • 4.5/5 G2 rating 771 reviews
  • $1,599/mo Starting price billed annually; trackers cite $1,750/mo
  • 2012 Founded per PRNewswire company profile
  • $150M Total funding $75M Series C, Feb 2026

Pricing

Vendor Risk (Standard, self-service)

$1,599–$1,750/mo billed annually

  • Third-party/vendor security monitoring
  • Security ratings and questionnaires

Breach Risk (self-service)

Tiered; see site

  • External attack surface scans
  • Data leak and dark web detection

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reviewers on G2 (4.5/5, 771 reviews), Gartner and Reddit broadly praise UpGuard for streamlining vendor risk workflows, with few concrete complaints in the sources.

“Upguard 100%”
Reddit, r/cybersecurity
“UpGuard Vendor Risk works well and has pro…”
G2 review

Companies that use it

  • Colorado State University11
  • Burgess Group
  • Chemist Warehouse
  • OVO
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources: G2, Gartner, Reddit threads, pricing trackers, and UpGuard official pages. Review snippets were truncated in sources; pricing figures vary slightly between trackers.

Respected vendor-risk platform (4.5/5, 771 G2 reviews) from $1,599/mo — great with many vendors, overkill for small teams.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources: G2, Gartner, Reddit threads, pricing trackers, and UpGuard official pages. Review snippets were truncated in sources; pricing figures vary slightly between trackers.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. news
  5. official
  6. official
  7. official
  8. official
  9. news
  10. news
  11. official
  12. security
  13. SecurityScorecard vs UpGuardsecurityscorecard.com
    news

Add this review to your site

This check for UpGuard says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.