Should I use UPS?
Not disclosed - ups.com
Depends. UPS fits businesses shipping daily volume, heavy ground freight, or internationally — the service range is broad. Light, one-off shippers face surcharges, price corrections, and mixed reviews; compare USPS or FedEx first.
Confidence
Medium. Based on 21 public sources; many review snippets truncated, limiting quote precision.
Ratings
- Value for money
- Ease of use
- Feature depth
- Support quality
- Security posture
Pricing
$9–$23 UPS Ground (estimate)
Retail / one-off
ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Daily business ratesNegotiated account rates
Best for
- →Daily-volume business shippers
- →Heavy ground freight
- →International and supply-chain logistics
- →E-commerce brands needing scheduled pickups
Not for
- ×Lightweight personal packages — USPS costs less
- ×One-off shippers paying UPS Store retail markups
- ×Budget-sensitive sellers — correction fees add up
- ×Anyone wanting a spotless breach record
Gotchas - check before you buy
high
Dimensional-weight price corrections after pickup can balloon invoices versus original quotes
medium
UPS Store franchises add retail markups; Redditors call prices 'ridiculous' versus post office
medium
Phishing texts impersonate UPS following real breaches; verify tracking links before clicking
medium
Sellers report losing rate-adjustment disputes on eBay; document weight and photos
Pros and cons
Pros
- +Broad service range: ground, flat rate, international, freight, supply chain
- +Free online shipping cost and time calculator
- +My Choice for Business manages inbound and outbound deliveries
- +Access Point locations for flexible pickup and drop-off
- +Enterprise supply-chain case study with Grover shows scaling capability
Cons
- −Repeated complaints about careless package handling
- −ConsumerAffairs reviews skew sharply negative
- −Post-checkout rate adjustments frustrate marketplace sellers
- −UPS Store retail locations charge marked-up prices
Sources & method
Analyzed 9/21/2026 - 21 sources - Three disclosed breaches (2014, 2023, 2025); Eaton/APC battery-backup 'UPS' CVEs in the search results are a different product.
official x7review x7security x4news x3
- UPS Store malware breach (2014), Malware at 51 UPS Store franchise locations compromised customer payment card data.
- SMS phishing breach (2023), UPS disclosed a breach caused by an SMS phishing campaign exposing Canadian customers' data.
- Salesforce-related breach (2025), UPS appears in a 2025 Salesforce-linked data breach database entry.
Comments
One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.
No comments yet.