shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Oracle VirtualBox Review

Depends

Should I use Oracle VirtualBox?

Not disclosed - virtualbox.org

· 1 month ago

Buy it if you're an individual dev, student, or tester needing free local VMs on any OS. Avoid it for unlicensed commercial Extension Pack use or production servers — Oracle audits, and rivals fit better.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 25+ public sources: G2, TrustRadius, PCMag reviews, Oracle docs, The Register, Reddit, and CVE databases.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityOnly community forums found in evidence
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Base package (GPL)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Extension Pack — personalFree
Extension Pack — enterprisePaid per named user

Best for

  • Devs testing across OSes
  • Students and home labs
  • Linux host users
  • Disposable test VMs

Not for

  • Companies running Extension Pack commercially without paid licenses — Oracle pursues them
  • Production server virtualization — use a datacenter hypervisor instead
  • Teams needing vendor-backed SLA support
  • High-security hosts — frequent privilege-escape CVEs

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Extension Pack is free only for personal use; commercial use needs enterprise named-user licenses — Oracle audits

high

July 2025 licensing tweak created compliance traps for businesses already using it

medium

Two CVEs landed within 28 days; patch promptly and monitor

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free, open-source base package
  • Runs multiple guest operating systems on one machine
  • Cross-platform hosted hypervisor
  • Widely adopted with a large user community
  • Flexible networking configuration options

Cons

  • Extension Pack requires paid license for commercial use
  • Oracle actively pursues unlicensed Extension Pack users
  • Recurring local privilege-escalation vulnerabilities in core
  • Some vulnerabilities have public exploits
  • 2025 licensing change caught businesses off guard

Sources & method

- 12 sources - Active CVE flow through 2025–2026, including core privilege escalations; some have exploits.

official x2review x6security x2news x2
  • CVE-2026-71138 — Core DoS, Denial-of-service in the Core component; monitoring recommended.
  • CVE-2026-71125 — second CVE in 28 days, Confirmed by Octane Security, part of a rapid CVE cadence.
  • VirtualBox 7.2.12 core local privilege escalation, Local attacker could escalate privileges via the Core component.
  • CVE-2025-62589 — privilege escalation, Affects the Core component of Oracle VM VirtualBox.
  • KLA11405 — public exploits exist, Kaspersky flags multiple VirtualBox vulnerabilities with public exploits available.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Core hypervisor is free and open source
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Wide adoption for good reason, per reviewers
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Multiple guest OSes, flexible networking tools
  • Support quality. Only community forums found in evidence
  • Security posture: 2/5. Repeated privilege-escalation CVEs; public exploits exist
  • $0 Base price GPL open-source package
  • Yes Free tier Extension Pack free for personal use only
  • 5+ Recent CVEs 2025–2026, incl. privilege escalation
  • Hosted hypervisor Type Cross-platform, x86

Pricing

Base package (GPL)

Free

  • Full open-source hypervisor
  • All core VM features

Extension Pack — personal

Free

  • Personal and evaluation use only

Extension Pack — enterprise

Paid per named user

  • Required for commercial use
  • Enterprise named user license

Security

Active CVE flow through 2025–2026, including core privilege escalations; some have exploits.

  • CVE-2026-71138 — Core DoSDenial-of-service in the Core component; monitoring recommended.⁷
  • CVE-2026-71125 — second CVE in 28 daysConfirmed by Octane Security, part of a rapid CVE cadence.⁸
  • VirtualBox 7.2.12 core local privilege escalationLocal attacker could escalate privileges via the Core component.
  • CVE-2025-62589 — privilege escalationAffects the Core component of Oracle VM VirtualBox.
  • KLA11405 — public exploits existKaspersky flags multiple VirtualBox vulnerabilities with public exploits available.

What users say

Users value the free cross-platform multi-OS support, especially on Linux, but bristle at Oracle's Extension Pack licensing enforcement.

“Oracle is demanding money for VBox Extension Pack”
Reddit, r/sysadmin
“Oracle is going after companies using Virtualbox Extension Pack”
Reddit, r/sysadmin

Alternatives

Compare Oracle VirtualBox with each alternative.

  • VMware Workstation Pro

    Stronger desktop VM performance; frequent VirtualBox comparison benchmark

  • Hyper-V

    Built into Windows Pro; better enterprise integration

    Oracle VirtualBox vs Hyper-V
  • Proxmox VE

    Free open-source server virtualization when you outgrow desktop VMs

Companies that use it

  • Secunet
Full analysis

Based on 25+ public sources: G2, TrustRadius, PCMag reviews, Oracle docs, The Register, Reddit, and CVE databases.

Free, solid desktop VMs for tinkerers and devs. Businesses: Extension Pack license audits and steady CVE drip.

Methodology

Based on 25+ public sources: G2, TrustRadius, PCMag reviews, Oracle docs, The Register, Reddit, and CVE databases.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. VirtualBox — Wikipediaen.wikipedia.org
    official
  5. official
  6. news
  7. security
  8. security
  9. review
  10. news
  11. review
  12. review

Add this review to your site

This check for Oracle VirtualBox says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.