shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Hubstaff?

Track employee time, monitor productivity, and turn approved hours into payments and insights. - hubstaff.com

Depends. Buy it if you bill client hours or manage offshore/field teams and need proof-of-work tied to payroll. Skip it if your team is small and trusted — screenshot and keystroke monitoring is overkill and breeds resentment.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources: G2/Trustpilot reviews, Reddit and Facebook employee threads, CVE databases, and pricing analyses. Some review snippets were truncated.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo direct evidence in sources reviewed
  • Security posture

Pricing

Guess: ~$7/user/mo

Starter

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Higher tiersSee pricing page

Best for

  • Agencies billing client hours
  • Teams managing offshore contractors
  • Outsourcing/BPO firms needing proof-of-work
  • Field crews logging site attendance

Not for

  • Small teams wanting simple, trust-based tracking
  • Anyone whose staff would quit over screenshots and keystroke logs
  • Solo freelancers — heavy overkill
  • Buyers wanting the cheapest timer only

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Screenshot/keystroke monitoring triggers employee backlash; multiple Reddit threads document resentment and caution warnings

medium

Real cost sits above base tier: add-ons and per-seat fees add up

medium

Desktop client had a DLL search-order hijacking CVE (CVSS 8.5); keep it updated

low

Free alternatives like Clockify market directly against it — compare before committing

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Rated 4.4/5 across 2,316 G2 reviews
  • Reviewers call it a robust time tracker with strong visibility
  • Turns approved hours directly into payments and payroll
  • SOC 2 Type II compliant with a HackerOne bug bounty program
  • 14-day free trial to test before committing

Cons

  • Employees report feeling tracked and micromanaged by keystroke monitoring
  • Users cite better-UI, lower-cost alternatives in Reddit threads
  • Independent review scores it 7.2/10 — good, not elite
  • Add-ons and per-seat pricing stretch costs beyond the entry tier

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 12 sources - SOC 2 Type II with a HackerOne program, but one high-severity desktop-client CVE (CVSS 8.5) is public.

official x3review x6security x2news x1
  • CVE-2023-53937 — DLL search order hijacking in Hubstaff desktop client, High severity (CVSS 8.5), uncontrolled search path element affecting Hubstaff 1.6.14 on Windows.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Guess: ~$7/user/mo

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Cheaper rivals marketed against it; add-ons lift real cost
  • Ease of use: 4/5. 4.4/5 across 2,316 G2 reviews
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Tracking, monitoring, payroll, insights in one
  • Support quality. No direct evidence in sources reviewed
  • Security posture: 3/5. SOC 2 and bounty, but CVSS 8.5 client CVE
  • 4.4/5 G2 rating 2,316 reviews
  • $32.9M Est. ARR 2024 estimate
  • 2012 Founded Remote-first company
  • 10,000+ Teams using it Per Vitally case study

Pricing

Starter

Guess: ~$7/user/mo

  • Lowest-cost entry tier
  • Core time tracking

Higher tiers

See pricing page

  • Productivity monitoring
  • Payroll and insights

Security

SOC 2 Type II with a HackerOne program, but one high-severity desktop-client CVE (CVSS 8.5) is public.

  • CVE-2023-53937 — DLL search order hijacking in Hubstaff desktop clientHigh severity (CVSS 8.5), uncontrolled search path element affecting Hubstaff 1.6.14 on Windows.⁸

Companies that use it

  • Affordable Staff11
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources: G2/Trustpilot reviews, Reddit and Facebook employee threads, CVE databases, and pricing analyses. Some review snippets were truncated.

Well-rated but surveillance-heavy time tracker; fits hourly-billing teams, overkill for small trusted crews.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources: G2/Trustpilot reviews, Reddit and Facebook employee threads, CVE databases, and pricing analyses. Some review snippets were truncated.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. official
  7. official
  8. security
  9. security
  10. news
  11. official
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.