shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use LendEDU?

Use LendEDU to compare financial products including student loans, personal loans, insurance, mortgages, and more. - lendedu.com

Skip. LendEDU suits only casual browsers who independently verify every rate against lender-direct quotes. Not for anyone who needs impartial comparisons — the FTC caught it selling rankings and reviews.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~25 public sources, including FTC records, press coverage, and Trustpilot.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo user evidence found
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Consumer use

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Casual rate browsing
  • Student loan refi research
  • One-site loan category overviews

Not for

  • Anyone trusting rankings to be impartial
  • Buyers relying on reviews as social proof
  • Businesses seeking software — it's a consumer site
  • Privacy-cautious borrowers — no security page

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Free means lenders pay for placement — FTC alleged pay-to-play; cross-check every ranking.

medium

2020 FTC settlement required ending fake-review practices; verify current disclosures yourself.

medium

No security page found — unclear how loan-inquiry personal data is protected.

medium

Commission-funded model means the cheapest option may rank below paying partners.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free for consumers — no cost to compare rates.
  • Covers student loans, personal loans, mortgages, and insurance in one place.
  • Publishes its monetization model — lender referral commissions.
  • Rate tables allow side-by-side lender comparison.

Cons

  • FTC found rankings sold to highest bidders; $350,000 fine.
  • CEO admitted inventing fake positive reviews, per FTC case.
  • Only 97 Trustpilot reviews — thin real-user signal.
  • Referral commissions create a conflict of interest in results.
  • No public security page despite handling loan inquiries.

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/25/2026 - 8 sources - No security page found; the 2020 FTC case concerned deceptive rankings, not a data breach.

official x5review x1news x2
  • FTC deceptive-rankings settlement (2020), FTC alleged pay-to-play rankings and fabricated reviews; settled with a $350,000 fine and practice restrictions.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 8

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Free, but rankings were sold to lenders
  • Ease of use. No user evidence found
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Wide product coverage with side-by-side rate tables
  • Support quality. No support evidence found
  • Security posture: 2/5. No public security page found
  • $350,000 FTC fine 2020 deceptive-rankings settlement
  • Free Consumer price Lenders pay referral commissions
  • 97 Trustpilot reviews Small sample of user feedback
  • 2014 Founded Per Federal Register filing

Pricing

Consumer use

Free

  • Rate tables and comparisons
  • Referred to partner lenders
  • Lender commissions fund the site

Security

No security page found; the 2020 FTC case concerned deceptive rankings, not a data breach.

  • FTC deceptive-rankings settlement (2020)FTC alleged pay-to-play rankings and fabricated reviews; settled with a $350,000 fine and practice restrictions.²

What users say

Direct user feedback is thin — 97 Trustpilot reviews — and coverage is dominated by the FTC's deceptive-practices case.

Full analysis

Based on ~25 public sources, including FTC records, press coverage, and Trustpilot.

Free loan-comparison site, but FTC fined it $350K for pay-to-play rankings and fake reviews. Verify everything.

Methodology

Based on ~25 public sources, including FTC records, press coverage, and Trustpilot.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. news
  4. news
  5. review
  6. official
  7. official
  8. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.