shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use MaiaLearning?

Give Your Students a Head Start With Early Career Learning. Ask about Pathfinders K-5 Career Exploration by MaiaLearning - maialearning.com

Depends. Buy if you are a US school district replacing Naviance with a full K-12 college-and-career platform. Skip if you are a single counselor, parent, or small school — pricing is district-sales-led and students only access it through school SSO.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; no G2 rating or published pricing found in evidence.

Ratings

  • Value for moneyNo public pricing evidence
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityOnly indirect hiring evidence, no user reviews
  • Security posture

Pricing

Not disclosed

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • US K-12 districts replacing Naviance
  • High school counseling departments
  • Districts wanting K-5 career exploration included

Not for

  • Individual parents or students buying directly
  • Small schools without counseling and procurement staff
  • Buyers who need published per-seat pricing
  • Independent college consultants — use GuidedPath instead

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Pricing is negotiated per district; no free trial advertised, expect a sales cycle

medium

Guess: switching platforms means migrating rosters and student plans; budget a full-year transition

medium

Students and parents cannot self-register; access depends entirely on school SSO setup

low

District staff handle roster uploads and ongoing data syncing

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Full K-12 coverage including Pathfinders career exploration for K-5
  • Common Application integration partner
  • New AI tools for college readiness
  • Adopted by large US public districts like Denver and Portland
  • Clever SSO support for student logins

Cons

  • No published pricing; sales-led district contracts only
  • Students report friction and trade workaround 'hacks'
  • Parents question data accuracy versus Scoir
  • No standalone accounts; access requires school SSO
  • Roster and data setup burdens school IT staff

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/01/2026 - 11 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x3security x2news x2

Key stats

  • Ease of use: 2/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money. No public pricing evidence
  • Ease of use: 2/5. Students share workaround 'hacks' publicly
  • Feature depth: 4/5. K-12 suite: careers, college lists, AI, Common App
  • Support quality. Only indirect hiring evidence, no user reviews
  • Security posture: 4/5. Security page, DPA, third-party hardening case study
  • K-12 Grade span Includes K-5 Pathfinders career exploration
  • Multiple US district adoption Denver, Portland, District 211, Simi Valley
  • $934.4K Crunchbase financial figure Reported 'this year'; basis unstated

Pricing

Not disclosed

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Student sentiment is mixed: schools lean on it for college lists and counselor workflows, but students publicly report friction and workarounds.

“I changed my college list last min”
Reddit, r/ApplyingToCollege

Companies that use it

  • Denver Public Schools⁴
  • Portland Public Schools (McDaniel High)
  • Orono Schools, MN (District 278)³
  • Township High School District 211, IL
  • Simi Valley Unified
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; no G2 rating or published pricing found in evidence.

District-priced K-12 college & career platform. Strong Naviance replacement for schools; not buyable by individuals.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; no G2 rating or published pricing found in evidence.

Sources

  1. MaiaLearning homepagemaialearning.com
    official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. news
  9. news
  10. security
  11. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.