shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use MyTutor?

UK online tutoring platform connecting GCSE/A-Level students with tutors from top UK universities - mytutor.co.uk

Depends. Buy if you are a parent or school wanting structured, vetted online GCSE/A-Level tutoring. Skip if you want the cheapest hourly rate, in-person lessons, or you are a tutor keeping most of your fee.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources: Trustpilot, Glassdoor, Indeed, Reddit, comparison sites, official pages, and press. Several snippets were truncated, so some ratings are approximate.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usability evidence in sources
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

from £26/hr

Pay-as-you-go

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • GCSE and A-Level students
  • Parents wanting vetted UK-university tutors
  • Schools running 1-to-1 interventions
  • Structured weekly exam prep

Not for

  • Adult learners or niche subjects — it is GCSE/A-Level focused
  • Bargain hunters — cheaper direct marketplaces exist
  • Tutors wanting to keep most of their fee
  • Anyone needing in-person tutoring

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Commission is baked into hourly rates; direct marketplaces like Superprof often cost less.

medium

Rates changed in 2023; expect further price moves on long engagements.

medium

A 2020 thread alleges unfavourable opinions were suppressed; cross-check independent Trustpilot reviews.

medium

Tutor-side pay complaints suggest churn; your tutor may not stay long-term.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Tutors from top UK universities, from £26/hr
  • Used by 1,500+ schools for one-to-one interventions
  • Independent EEF evaluation of its schools programme exists
  • Tutor vetting via Verifile background checks
  • Published safeguarding and online-safety policies

Cons

  • Commission model: customers pay above what tutors earn
  • Some tutors publicly say 'I would not recommend MyTutor'
  • 2023 pricing changes frustrated existing customers
  • 2020 thread accuses it of suppressing unfavourable opinions
  • Only 76% of employees would recommend working there

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/02/2026 - 16 sources - Publishes security, safeguarding and online-safety policies, runs a vulnerability disclosure programme, and uses Verifile for tutor background checks. No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x7security x4news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • from £26/hr

    Starting price

  • 16

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. £26/hr mid-market; commission inflates price vs direct rivals
  • Ease of use. No usability evidence in sources
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Curriculum-aligned GCSE/A-Level focus; schools programme with EEF trial
  • Support quality: 3/5. Mixed Trustpilot record; formal complaints policy exists
  • Security posture: 4/5. Vulnerability disclosure programme, safeguarding, third-party tutor vetting
  • £26/hr Starting price cheapest listed 1-to-1 rate
  • 4.x/5 Trustpilot 192 review pages on Trustpilot
  • 1,500+ Schools per MyTutor's own about page
  • IXL Learning Ownership acquired May 2025

Pricing

Pay-as-you-go

from £26/hr

  • 1-to-1 online lessons
  • Rate varies by tutor experience
  • GCSE and A-Level subjects

Security

Publishes security, safeguarding and online-safety policies, runs a vulnerability disclosure programme, and uses Verifile for tutor background checks.

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Buyer feedback leans positive on Trustpilot and Mumsnet, while tutor-side reviews frequently criticise pay and commission.

“I would not recommend MyTutor”
Indeed, tutor review
“Is it worth signing up for MyTutor?”
Reddit, r/UniUK
“Has Anyone Used MyTutor Before?”
Reddit, r/6thForm
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources: Trustpilot, Glassdoor, Indeed, Reddit, comparison sites, official pages, and press. Several snippets were truncated, so some ratings are approximate.

Vetted GCSE/A-Level online tutoring from £26/hr — solid for structured exam prep, mid-market price, mixed tutor reviews.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources: Trustpilot, Glassdoor, Indeed, Reddit, comparison sites, official pages, and press. Several snippets were truncated, so some ratings are approximate.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. news
  12. EEF — MyTutor Schools Programme trialeducationendowmentfoundation.org.uk
    official
  13. security
  14. security
  15. security
  16. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.