shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use NavEd?

Free gradebook for micro schools, co-ops & homeschools. Track grades, attendance, parent portals. First 5 students FREE. Yearly plans from $99/year. - nav.education

Depends. Microschool or co-op founders with 6+ students should try it free; $99/year is low-risk for the niche. Traditional schools needing transcripts, state reporting, or vendor security proof should pick a real SIS instead.

Confidence

Low. Based on 5 public sources; nearly all vendor-published, with no independent reviews found.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo evidence on support responsiveness
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Paid yearlyfrom $99/year

Best for

  • Microschool founders
  • Homeschool co-ops
  • Learning pods with 6+ students
  • Teachers wanting a no-signup gradebook

Not for

  • Traditional schools needing transcripts and state reporting
  • Districts — you need PowerSchool-grade SIS, not this
  • Homeschools with 3 or fewer kids — a spreadsheet wins
  • Anyone requiring SOC 2 or vendor security assurances

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

No security page; due diligence on student-data handling falls on you

low

Free tier stops at 5 students; growth past that triggers $99/year

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free for first 5 students
  • Yearly plans from $99/year — cheap for the niche
  • Covers grades, attendance, and parent portals in one place
  • No-signup free gradebook for instant trial
  • Built by a co-op family using it themselves

Cons

  • Feature set stays narrow: grades, attendance, parent portals
  • No published security page
  • Entire product run by a two-person family team

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/19/2026 - 5 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed; no security page published.

official x4security x1
  • No security page, Crawl of found no security page.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 5

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Free to 5 students; $99/yr is cheap
  • Ease of use: 4/5. No-signup gradebook; built by co-op parents
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Grades, attendance, parent portals only
  • Support quality. No evidence on support responsiveness
  • Security posture: 2/5. No security page published
  • $99/year Starting price First 5 students free
  • Yes Free tier Gradebook usable with no signup
  • 2 founders Team size Husband-and-wife co-op family in Virginia
  • 0 found Independent reviews Only vendor-published sources reviewed

Pricing

Free

$0

  • First 5 students free
  • Grades, attendance, parent portals

Paid yearly

from $99/year

  • For schools beyond 5 students
  • Detailed feature list not published

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed; no security page published.

  • No security pageCrawl of found no security page.⁵

What users say

No independent user reviews surfaced; vendor marketing and blog content.

Full analysis

Based on 5 public sources; nearly all vendor-published, with no independent reviews found.

Cheap niche gradebook for microschools: free to 5 students, $99/yr after. Zero independent reviews; no security page.

Methodology

Based on 5 public sources; nearly all vendor-published, with no independent reviews found.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. Security pagenav.education
    security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.