shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Pastel?

Website annotation tool for fast visual feedback - pastel.is

Depends. Buy Pastel if collecting client feedback on live websites is a weekly bottleneck for your agency or design team. Skip it if you annotate occasionally — free, no-signup rivals like AnnotateWeb cover that.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~12 usable public sources. Most 'Pastel' search hits were unrelated (art supplies, Pilot pens, Sage accounting, a Nigerian fintech, a band) and excluded; the 2009 CVEs apply to an unrelated Pastel CMS, not this product.

Ratings

  • Value for moneyOnly a competitor cites pricing; no neutral data.
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depthFeature set not detailed in usable sources.
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in reviewed sources.
  • Security posture

Pricing

$35/mo

Paid plan

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Team planNot disclosed in sources

Best for

  • Agencies collecting client website feedback
  • Design teams reviewing live pages
  • Freelancers juggling multiple client sites
  • Marketing teams iterating on landing pages

Not for

  • One-off reviewers — free no-signup tools suffice
  • Teams annotating PDFs or mobile apps, not websites
  • Anyone wanting verified security audit evidence
  • Price-sensitive users on tight budgets

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Only price point found is $35/mo via a competitor comparison — verify current tiers on the official pricing page.

medium

A 'Team' plan appears in competitor marketing, but seat pricing and limits weren't visible in reviewed sources.

low

Most comparison pages (MarkUp, dotts, Superflow) are competitor-run and biased; treat feature claims skeptically.

low

No verbatim user reviews retrievable; praise claims come from truncated G2 snippets.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Purpose-built for annotating live websites and collecting visual feedback
  • G2 users consistently praise the product
  • Publishes a dedicated product security page
  • Published privacy policy for users and customers

Cons

  • $35/month cited by a competitor as pricey for freelancers
  • Crowded category; seven alternatives actively marketed against it
  • Comparison sites bucket it with static-design annotation tools
  • Free, no-signup rivals undercut its paid positioning

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/29/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x6security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Ease of use: 4/5

    Rating

  • $35/mo

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money. Only a competitor cites pricing; no neutral data.
  • Ease of use: 4/5. G2 snippet says users consistently praise it.
  • Feature depth. Feature set not detailed in usable sources.
  • Support quality. No support evidence in reviewed sources.
  • Security posture: 3/5. Public security page and privacy policy; no audit proof.
  • $35/mo Starting price Per dotts.se comparison, 2026
  • 7 alternatives Market rivals 2026 roundup compares them head-to-head
  • 2018 First customers Per founder essay on first 25 customers
  • Unconfirmed Free tier Not stated in reviewed sources

Pricing

Paid plan

$35/mo

  • Figure cited by dotts.se comparison
  • Confirm current pricing on official plans page

Team plan

Not disclosed

  • Referenced in MarkUp vs. Pastel comparison

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

G2 reviewers consistently praise Pastel, but reviewed snippets were too truncated for verbatim quotes.

Full analysis

Based on ~12 usable public sources. Most 'Pastel' search hits were unrelated (art supplies, Pilot pens, Sage accounting, a Nigerian fintech, a band) and excluded; the 2009 CVEs apply to an unrelated Pastel CMS, not this product.

Niche website-annotation tool: fair buy for agencies, overkill for one-off reviews — free rivals suffice.

Methodology

Based on ~12 usable public sources. Most 'Pastel' search hits were unrelated (art supplies, Pilot pens, Sage accounting, a Nigerian fintech, a band) and excluded; the 2009 CVEs apply to an unrelated Pastel CMS, not this product.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. security
  4. official
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. news
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.