shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Sell on Amazon?

Amazon's marketplace for third-party sellers - sell.amazon.com

Depends. Buy if you sell items priced over $25 and want Prime-level reach — the fee stack hurts but is survivable at volume. Skip if you sell cheap, low-margin goods; sellers report 50%+ of revenue going to Amazon.

Confidence

High. Based on 14+ public sources: Amazon's official pricing pages plus seller forums and third-party fee breakdowns.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo direct usability evidence found
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security postureNo platform vulnerability evidence in sources

Pricing

$0.99/item sold

Individual

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees6–20%
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Professional$39.99/month

Best for

  • Brands selling items over $25
  • Sellers wanting Prime reach
  • Volume sellers (40+ orders/month)
  • Businesses outsourcing fulfillment via FBA

Not for

  • Sellers of sub-$25 low-margin items — 50%+ fee take reported
  • Hobbyists under 40 sales/month — per-item plan is the only fit
  • Anyone needing full margin and customer control
  • Businesses unwilling to absorb surprise fee changes

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Total Amazon take can exceed 50% on cheap items; margins under $25 price points are brutal

high

Referral fees stack per sale: 6–20% by category, plus FBA $3–$8/unit and storage

medium

Fees pulled directly from your balance; Professional plan billed even with zero sales

low

$1.80 closing fee per unit on media categories like books, DVDs, and software

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Massive built-in customer reach plus $50K in new-seller credits
  • Cheap entry: Individual plan has no subscription, just $0.99 per item
  • FBA outsources fulfillment at $3–$8 per unit plus storage
  • Professional plan's flat $39.99/mo beats per-item fees past ~40 sales
  • Free calculator previews fees and revenue per product before listing

Cons

  • Real total take runs 15–20% of sales with ads and fulfillment
  • Sellers report 50%+ cuts on low-priced items
  • Hard to profit on items priced under $25
  • Fee layers stack: referral, closing, listing, storage, advertising
  • Optional account manager service reportedly costs $3,500/month

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 14 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x11

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $0.99/item sold

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Sellers report 50%+ take on cheap items
  • Ease of use. No direct usability evidence found
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Ecosystem: FBA, ads, credits, fee calculator
  • Support quality: 2/5. Forum complaints: disputes, fees auto-pulled
  • Security posture. No platform vulnerability evidence in sources
  • $39.99/mo Professional plan flat subscription + selling fees
  • $0.99/item Individual plan no monthly subscription
  • 6–20% Referral fees varies by product category
  • $3–$8/unit FBA fulfillment plus storage fees

Pricing

Individual

$0.99/item sold

  • No monthly subscription
  • Best under ~40 orders/month

Professional

$39.99/month

  • Unlimited listings
  • Plus 6–20% referral fee per sale

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Sellers value the customer reach but widely complain that stacked fees devour margins, especially on items under $25.

“50%+ or more is pretty typical, but depends on size and retail of your item. It is hard to make money if your items don't cost more than $25.”
Reddit, r/AmazonSeller
“I finally sat down and calculated every single charge on a month of sales. Referral fees, fulfillment, payment processing, advertising to...”
Reddit, r/smallbusiness
“We have a $20 product and had 20k sales last month and after 2k of Amazon advertising the...”
Reddit, r/FulfillmentByAmazon
Full analysis

Based on 14+ public sources: Amazon's official pricing pages plus seller forums and third-party fee breakdowns.

Huge reach, stacked fees: 6–20% referral + FBA can eat 50% of revenue on cheap items. Fine above $25.

Methodology

Based on 14+ public sources: Amazon's official pricing pages plus seller forums and third-party fee breakdowns.

Sources

  1. Standard selling feessell.amazon.com
    official
  2. Selling on Amazon fee schedulesellercentral.amazon.com
    official
  3. Product security pagesell.amazon.com
    official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. Amazon Seller Fees: The Costs To Sellonlinesellingexperiment.com
    review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. AMAZON FEES 50%reddit.com
    review
  12. review
  13. review
  14. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.