shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Zettle?

PayPal POS International - zettle.com

Depends. Buy it if you're a solo or very small seller wanting the cheapest simple card payments with free software. Avoid it if your takings depend on responsive support and hardware that never locks up.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 25+ public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, official PayPal/Zettle pages, and security pages.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

1.75% per in-person sale

Pay-as-you-go

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees1.75%
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Solopreneurs and market traders
  • Small cafés and pop-up shops
  • PayPal sellers adding in-person payments
  • Anyone avoiding monthly POS fees

Not for

  • Businesses that can't tolerate slow support
  • Teams needing ERP or Odoo integrations
  • Merchants burned before by locked card readers
  • Guess: high-volume chains needing advanced inventory

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Low fee is the hook; post-signup complaints center on support and trust, not pricing

high

Users report readers becoming locked, leaving sellers stranded

medium

Deposits follow their own schedule and terms — read them before relying on daily cash flow

low

Software is free, but readers and Terminals cost extra

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Flat 1.75% in-person fee, no monthly cost
  • POS software is free for small retailers
  • G2 users find it easy and fast to learn
  • Called a low-cost option for solopreneurs
  • Card reader hardware earns praise for quality

Cons

  • Trustpilot reviewers describe unresolved issues and support frustration
  • Reddit reports readers locking up mid-business
  • Some owners say avoid it despite the low fees
  • Poor third-party integration; no Odoo data sync
  • App Store reviews include strong one-star warnings

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/27/2026 - 16 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x10security x2news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • 1.75% per in-person sale

    Starting price

  • 16

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Flat 1.75%, free software, few pricing complaints
  • Ease of use: 4/5. G2 users say easy and quick to learn
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Solid basics, loyalty and customer lists, thin integrations
  • Support quality: 2/5. Trustpilot and Reddit complain heavily about support
  • Security posture: 4/5. PayPal bug bounty, documented hardware security
  • 5,731 Trustpilot reviews customer reviews, many critical
  • 1.75% In-person card fee flat rate, no monthly fee
  • Free POS software no monthly subscription
  • 2018 PayPal acquisition formerly iZettle, now PayPal POS

Pricing

Pay-as-you-go

1.75% per in-person sale

  • Free POS software
  • No monthly fee
  • Card reader sold separately

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Users like the low flat fee and simple app, but Trustpilot and Reddit carry loud complaints about support, trust, and devices.

“NEVER EVER EVER USE THIS. I”
Apple App Store review
“Zettle / PayPal very much NOT recommended!!!”
Reddit, r/paypal
“Stay clear of izettle - left so frustrated 😣”
Reddit, r/smallbusinessuk

Companies that use it

  • Jilian's Produce
Full analysis

Based on 25+ public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, official PayPal/Zettle pages, and security pages.

Cheap 1.75% flat-rate POS, free software, no monthly fee — solid for solo sellers, but support complaints run deep.

Methodology

Based on 25+ public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, official PayPal/Zettle pages, and security pages.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. official
  12. official
  13. security
  14. security
  15. Wikipedia — Zettleen.wikipedia.org
    news
  16. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.