shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Crisp Review

Worth it

Should I use Crisp?

All-in-one AI-powered multichannel messaging platform for customer support and lead conversations. - crisp.chat

· 1 month ago

Buy if you're a small-to-mid ecommerce or SaaS team that wants live chat, chatbot, and AI in one affordable tool. Skip it if you need unlimited seats, entry-level white-label, or enterprise-grade compliance assurance.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~15 usable public sources; unrelated 'Crisp' companies (Dutch grocery, retail-data platform, health exchange, video agency) were excluded from analysis.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo direct user evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
EssentialPer workspace
PlusPer workspace
UnlimitedPer workspace

Best for

  • Ecommerce stores (Shopify sellers)
  • Small-to-mid support teams
  • Teams automating FAQs with cheap AI
  • Startups wanting one shared inbox

Not for

  • Growing teams that will hit the 4/10/20 seat caps
  • Buyers needing white-label without paying Plus tier
  • Highly regulated enterprises requiring deep compliance assurance
  • Anyone expecting simple flat pricing — plans are per-workspace with tier gates

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Seat caps (4/10/20) mean hiring more agents forces a plan upgrade

medium

AI is metered per resolution (~$0.05); heavy bot usage inflates monthly bills

medium

Removing Crisp branding (white-label) only available on Plus tier

medium

2026 plan structure changed; verify current workspace billing and caps before committing

Pros and cons

Pros

  • All-in-one messaging: live chat, AI chatbot, multichannel inbox
  • Rated 4.3/5 across 15 verified G2 and Capterra reviews
  • Performs well in everyday use; solid chat widget
  • Free tier available to start
  • AI agent priced around $0.05 per resolution

Cons

  • Seat caps by tier (4/10/20) force upgrades as you grow
  • White-label locked to the Plus plan
  • Four per-workspace plans; reviewers ask 'what's the catch?'
  • Missed notifications reported: 'doesn't send all of our responses'

Sources & method

- 15 sources - No Crisp platform breach found; official SOC2 article exists, but its WordPress plugin shipped CVEs (2021, 2024) and stealer logs flag im.crisp.app credentials.

official x2review x6security x3news x4
  • CVE-2021-43353 — CSRF in Crisp Live Chat WordPress plugin, High-severity (CVSS 8.8) cross-site request forgery flaw in the official WordPress plugin.
  • CVE-2024-27963 — CSRF to stored XSS, plugin < 0.32, WordPress plugin vulnerable to CSRF leading to stored XSS; later versions patched.
  • 1,601 infostealer credentials linked to im.crisp.app, Hudson Rock flags compromised user credentials in stealer logs — user-side exposure, not a platform breach.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 15

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Cheap AI, but seat caps complicate value
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Performs well daily; praised chat widget
  • Feature depth: 4/5. All-in-one: chat, chatbot, multichannel, white-label
  • Support quality. No direct user evidence found
  • Security posture: 3/5. SOC2 article published; plugin CVEs noted
  • 4.3/5 G2/Capterra rating Aggregated from 15 verified reviews
  • Yes Free tier Paid plans billed per workspace
  • 3 Paid plans Seat caps of 4/10/20 by tier
  • 250M MAU Scale End-users reached, per CEO's r/SaaS AMA

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Starts free
  • Basic live chat

Essential

Per workspace

  • Entry paid tier
  • AI agent metered per resolution
  • Seat cap applies

Plus

Per workspace

  • White-label included
  • Mid tier
  • Seat cap applies

Unlimited

Per workspace

  • Top tier
  • Highest seat cap

Security

No Crisp platform breach found; official SOC2 article exists, but its WordPress plugin shipped CVEs (2021, 2024) and stealer logs flag im.crisp.app credentials.

  • CVE-2021-43353 — CSRF in Crisp Live Chat WordPress pluginHigh-severity (CVSS 8.8) cross-site request forgery flaw in the official WordPress plugin.13
  • CVE-2024-27963 — CSRF to stored XSS, plugin < 0.32WordPress plugin vulnerable to CSRF leading to stored XSS; later versions patched.12
  • 1,601 infostealer credentials linked to im.crisp.appHudson Rock flags compromised user credentials in stealer logs — user-side exposure, not a platform breach.14

What users say

Users praise Crisp's everyday performance and affordability but flag seat caps, tiered pricing, and occasional missed notifications.

“We have a great experience with Crisp”
Capterra user review
“In everyday use, Crisp performs well.”
Tidio editorial review

Alternatives

Compare Crisp with each alternative.

  • Tidio

    Chatbot-focused live chat alternative; publishes detailed Crisp comparisons

    Crisp vs Tidio
  • HelpDesk

    Simpler, ticket-focused support inbox

  • Kayako

    Shared-inbox helpdesk pitched as a Crisp alternative

    Crisp vs Kayako
Full analysis

Based on ~15 usable public sources; unrelated 'Crisp' companies (Dutch grocery, retail-data platform, health exchange, video agency) were excluded from analysis.

4.3/5-rated SMB chat + AI platform with a free tier; seat caps and per-workspace billing annoy growing teams.

Methodology

Based on ~15 usable public sources; unrelated 'Crisp' companies (Dutch grocery, retail-data platform, health exchange, video agency) were excluded from analysis.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. news
  8. news
  9. news
  10. official
  11. official
  12. security
  13. security
  14. security
  15. news

Add this review to your site

Crisp earned a Worth it check.

Put the badge on your site, pricing page, or docs.

Visitors see an independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.