shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use IBC Customer Central | IBC Customer Central?

Not disclosed - ibc.doi.gov

Depends. Only federal agencies can buy IBC's payroll, HR, and financial shared services, via interagency fee-for-service agreements. Private companies and small teams cannot sign up and should use commercial payroll providers instead.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~14 public sources; many 'IBC' results are unrelated entities (IBC Bank, insurance, blockchain protocol) and were excluded. No user reviews exist for this product.

Ratings

  • Value for moneyNo public pricing or cost data
  • Ease of useNo user reviews found
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityPhone and bulletin channels only; unverified
  • Security posture

Pricing

Not disclosed

ModelFee-for-service
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • Federal agencies needing payroll/HR shared services
  • DOI bureau clients using IBC systems
  • Agencies wanting fee-for-service process automation

Not for

  • Private companies — federal agency clients only
  • Small businesses needing simple payroll — use commercial tools
  • Teams wanting self-serve SaaS with public pricing
  • Anyone requiring verifiable support quality — no public reviews exist

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

August 2024 Datamart privacy breach from unintentional user error; security settings corrected

high

2016 DOI OIG investigation found a former employee hacked personnel documents

medium

Full cost recovery means opaque pricing; no rates are published

medium

Support is phone numbers and bulletins; zero public reviews to verify quality

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Single entry point for IBC-managed systems and customer support
  • Broad catalog: payroll, HR, and financial shared services
  • Transparent fee-for-service, full cost recovery model
  • Treasury catalog cites efficient, cost-effective process automation
  • Direct customer care channels via DOI

Cons

  • Federal agency clients only; no commercial availability
  • 2024 Datamart breach exposed personnel data
  • 2016 OIG case: ex-employee hacked personnel documents
  • No public pricing; costs negotiated per agreement

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 9 sources - Two incidents on record: 2024 Datamart privacy breach (unintentional user error) and 2016 insider hack of personnel documents.

official x5review x1security x3
  • Datamart privacy breach (2024), Technical investigation confirmed an unintentional user error exposed data; security setting corrected. Customer bulletins followed in October 2024.
  • Former employee hacked personnel documents (2016), DOI Office of Inspector General investigation into a former IBC employee hacking personnel documents.

Key stats

  • Feature depth: 4/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money. No public pricing or cost data
  • Ease of use. No user reviews found
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Broad catalog: payroll, HR, financial systems
  • Support quality. Phone and bulletin channels only; unverified
  • Security posture: 2/5. Two public incidents: 2024 breach, 2016 insider hack
  • Interior Business Center Provider U.S. Department of the Interior
  • Fee-for-service Business model Full cost recovery
  • 2 Public incidents 2024 Datamart breach; 2016 insider hack

Pricing

Free tier: No

Security

Two incidents on record: 2024 Datamart privacy breach (unintentional user error) and 2016 insider hack of personnel documents.

  • Datamart privacy breach (2024)Technical investigation confirmed an unintentional user error exposed data; security setting corrected. Customer bulletins followed in October 2024.⁶
  • Former employee hacked personnel documents (2016)DOI Office of Inspector General investigation into a former IBC employee hacking personnel documents.⁸

What users say

No independent user reviews of IBC Customer Central were found; the reviews surfaced online refer to the unrelated IBC Bank.

Full analysis

Based on ~14 public sources; many 'IBC' results are unrelated entities (IBC Bank, insurance, blockchain protocol) and were excluded. No user reviews exist for this product.

Govt shared-services portal (payroll/HR) for federal agencies only. Private buyers: unavailable. Two public data incidents on record.

Methodology

Based on ~14 public sources; many 'IBC' results are unrelated entities (IBC Bank, insurance, blockchain protocol) and were excluded. No user reviews exist for this product.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. official
  6. security
  7. security
  8. security
  9. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.